Demi Lovato – Confident

October 2, 2016 at 5:29 PM | Posted in Demi Lovato, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

confident1ALBUM REVIEW
Demi Lovato – Confident

1. Confident
2. Cool For The Summer
3. Old Ways
4. For You
5. Stone Cold
6. Kingdom Come (feat. Iggy Azalea)
7. Waitin’ For You (feat. Sirah)
8. Wildfire
9. Lionheart
10. Yes
11. Father

♦ ♦ ♦

confident2

Confident is the fifth studio album by American singer Demi Lovato, released on October 16, 2015. The album debuted at #1 in Canada, while reaching the top 10 in fifteen other countries, including the United Kingdom and the United States.

 I love how Demi opens the album with this strong number, Confident, in which she sings ‘It’s time for me to take it // I’m the boss right now‘. Show them, girl. It’s a drum-line driven, tough track with some nice brassy elements and everything makes this song so worthy of being the title track. Demi definitely makes a statement here.

Then Cool For The Summer comes in, probably one of the hottest summer songs of 2015. It’s a nice blend, throwing in some edgy rock guitars and electronic arrangements as well. Some say this is Demi going back to her old sound, but I disagree. Of course it’s much more sexually suggestive, but musically this song sets itself apart from the rest. And I quite like it.

Old Ways is the first of a number of songs in this album in which the chorus is a nice instrumental breakdown, with great beats and something very addictive to it. I must say I respect Demi for addressing her rehab issues back in 2010 on this song, and how she’s saying she left it all behind. Great song.

I don’t think I’m the only one when I say For You is like a throwback to the sound on her previous album ‘Demi’. That being said, it’s not that it doesn’t belong on this album. Actually, it’s one of the strongest songs and I like how the verses are more quiet than the bombastic choruses. I guess it grew on me a LOT in the past year.

Ah, Stone Cold.. This sentimental ballad breaks my heart every time I hear it. Demi’s vocal performance is so raw and real, and I think she makes the message even more clear even for those who know what it’s like when someone you used to love moves on. The stripped down arrangement highlights everything perfectly and this is just so soulful and sad. In the best way possible.

Is it strange that I like Kingdom Come (feat. Iggy Azalea) so much? Just like Old Ways, it features a beat-driven, catchy instrumental break in the chorus that sounds a bit like trap music, something I seem to appreciate. It’s one of the songs I always put on repeat, and even though I’m probably alone in my opinion, not even Demi’s BFF Iggy can spoil that.

confident3I had never heard of Sirah, but Demi’s collaboration with her on Waitin’ For You is smashing. This song screams confidence, it’s assertive (maybe even a little aggressive at some points), and I love the arrangement. Sirah lifted this track to the next level with her performance and I would like to see these girls join forces again.

If I have to pick one song that I skip most often, it would be Wildfire. Not that it’s a bad song, not at all! Everytime that perfect whistle note near the end sends shivers up my spine (eat your heart out, Mariah), and it’s soothing in its own way. But maybe that quality makes it hard to compare it to the kickass songs that dominate the album.

Lionheart, then, is like the soundtrack to a Nicholas Sparks movie, and it’s definitely one of my favorites. I thought it was about one of Demi’s late dogs (I think it’s Buddy), which makes it so bittersweet I can’t even. Everything about this song, from the arrangement to Demi’s amazing vocals, is pure perfection.

Yes makes me think about my own fiancé, and I think everyone who’s in love can relate to the lyrics. I think this song made me realize I wanted to marry him eventually, so it holds a special place in my heart. What I like best next to the lyrics, is Demi’s voice. She has so much positive energy and that range is to die for. A-ma-zing.

If Stone Cold was an emotional tearjerker, Father is the other one. You´ll need tissues, trust me. Now, Demi´s father passed away in 2013 and their relationship was, so to say, troubled. Now this ballad, with piano and violins to make it even worse, shows Demi leaving everything behind. It breaks my heart to hear her sing ´I hope that heaven´s giving you a second chance´.

So I have wanted to review this album ever since it came out, but due to circumstances, here it is one year later. In the meantime, I have listened to it over and over again, so I probably know most (if not all) songs by heart. I’m in love with this album, and it’s so close to perfection it made me become even a bigger Lovatic than I already was. If you ask me, this is Demi’s best album to date, and I would be so happy if this is the style she has found for herself. It works so well for her! Keep that confidence coming Demi, it looks good on you.

Favorite songs: Confident | Cool For The Summer | For You | Stone Cold | Kingdom Come (feat. Iggy Azalea) | Waitin’ For You (feat. Sirah) | Lionhearts

OVERALL RATING
starstarstarstarstar
5 stars

confident4

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

