Kalafina – blaze

August 27, 2016 at 2:05 PM | Posted in Kalafina, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

blaze_zpsvj1lgvpf

SINGLE REVIEW
Kalafina – blaze

1. blaze
2. Natsu no Asa
3. blaze ~instrumental~
4. Natsu no Asa ~instrumental~
5. blaze ~TV size~

blaze is the nineteenth single by Japanese group Kalafina, released on August 10, 2016. The title track was used as the ending theme for the anime series Arslan Senki: Fuujin Ranbu.

I’m glad blaze fits right into their latest streak of singles, including One Light and ring your bell. The song immediately opens with some strong vocals and electric guitars, which caught my attention. I must say, I’m starting to like HIKARU’s vocals more because of songs like this one, her voice comes out fierce and solid. KEIKO also deserves some credit for her vocals, she and HIKARU take the lead. WAKANA is there, but barely if you ask me. It’s not as epic as some of Kalafina’s older songs, but it’s definitely their style and the arrangement and background choir are amazing.

A flute and harp open Natsu no Asa and I think I couldn’t be happier. I always love these kind of Kalafina songs because, contrary to the A-side here, this actually is epic as heck. It does remind me a bit of Seventh Heaven and Red Moon songs, but I can’t come up with the names. It’s like a sequel to those songs, that much is true. I think this one balances the single so that we have one pumping fast paced track and a serene piece. I’d like to hear them do this more often!

OVERALL RATING
starstarstarstarblankstar
4 stars

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

