BENI – Forever

November 6, 2015 at 4:21 PM | Posted in BENI | Leave a comment

SINGLE REVIEW
BENI – Forever

1. Forever
2. BABY
3. TATTOO
4. CAT’S EYE

Forever is the twenty-sixth single by Japanese/American singer BENI, released on August 12, 2015. The single sold 765 copies.

Well, that’s not much, only 765 copies… And to think this is the first single for her new album ‘Undress’ (TBR 2015.11.25). Anyway, Forever does not sound like anything BENI has done before AT ALL. The song is very funky and the beginning reminded me a bit of ‘You Can’t Hurry Love’, it’s actually the best part of the entire song. BENI herself also sounds amazing, belting out high notes in the chorus.  I’m in love with this ❤

The beat in BABY sounds a bit off to me, it’s not a bad thing that it’s uptempo but when I listen to the instruments I would imagine something a bit smoother, like in the bridge. It does have some nice R&B elements that BENI always pulls off nicely, but I think this song needs a little more time to get used to before I love it (and besides, I’m not going to love any song as much as Forever).

There’s something about TATTOO that sounds very 90s house, while it’s also modern. One thing is for sure, this is the third song in a row that is not typically BENI, in a good way! It’s very interesting that BENI tried this and her vocals work very well for this genre too, it leaves me wanting more!

CAT’S EYE is a cover, but I don’t know the original (as with most cover songs). The song has a mysterious ambience in some way, perhaps because of those piano notes throughout the arrangement. I must say this is the song I like least of all, although it doesn’t completely lack potential.

Well, if I wasn’t excited for ‘Undress’ already, I certainly am now!

OVERALL RATING
starstarstarstarblankstar
4 stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

