AOA – Angels’ Story

July 27, 2015 at 4:39 PM | Posted in AOA | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

SINGLE REVIEW
AOA – Angels’ Story

1. ELVIS
2. Love Is Only You
3. Temptation
4. ELVIS (Ver. Band)

Angels’ Story is the debut single by South Korean band AOA (Ace Of Angels), released on July 30, 2012.

So, for those of you who don’t know AOA yet (like me), here’s their concept. AOA exists of 8 members, of which 7 are called ‘Angels’ and are full members and one is a half-angel and also half-member (their drummer). The original group of 8 can also be split into AOA Black (the band consisting of 5 members) and AOA White (the dance unit consisting of 3 members).

Confused already? Well, here we go. ELVIS is quite a quirky song and it takes me a minute to really get into it, because the verses are mostly raps. Once I get to the chorus I hear a typical catchy K-pop tune through my speakers, but the unique and kinda crazy quality stays. It’s borderline trip music, but thankfully not quite. What I know now from the vocals is that I don’t really like leader Jimin’s squeaky vocals, Choa comes out best in the chorus but they all sound pretty good together.

Love Is Only You is instantly different. Gone is the craziness and instead we have a sweet R&B ballad with a piano opening the song and soft synths, guitars and a nice beat. It’s so different but also the much better track on the single, I enjoy this very much. I instantly recognize Choa’s pleasant vocals, so I now name her as my favorite member haha. There was also a good rap in the second verse, but I don’t know if that was Mina or Chanmi.

Closing the single, there is a kind of midtempo dance influenced song with heavier and deeper synths. Temptation also features a harp to balance things off (and maybe as a hint to the ‘angelic’ concept?) and the overall song is quite nice. Some members’ vocals need a little time to get used to, but I think I’ll get there eventually.

ELVIS (Ver. Band) performed by AOA Black (Jimin, Choa, Yuna, Youkyoung and Mina) makes so much more sense than the original, especially since I watched the MV. It’s so nice to see a girl group perform as a band with members that can actually play instruments. That quirky sound apparently comes from Yuna’s keyboard, and Jimin and Choa deliver perfect guitar performances. This is also more appealing than the original!

The second song was definitely the better song on the single, but I recognize that this group has potential. They have a new mini-album called ‘Heart Attack’ out, but I wanted to get to know them from their debut on instead of their newest release. Thanks to my friend M. for pointing this group out to me last week!

OVERALL RATING
starstarstarstarblankstar
4 stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

