TaeTiSeo – Holler

July 26, 2015 at 4:54 PM | Posted in TaeTiSeo | 2 Comments
Tags: ,

MINI-ALBUM REVIEW
TaeTiSeo – Holler

1. Holler
2. Adrenaline
3. Naega Nege (Whisper)
4. Stay
5. Only U
6. EYES

♦ ♦ ♦

Holler is the second mini-album by South-Korean girl group Girls’ Generation’s subgroup TaeTiSeo, released on September 18, 2014.

WHY DIDN’T I KNOW ABOUT THIS?? Perhaps because I gave up hope for a new TTS release a while ago. But here it is! I remember how much I loved ‘Twinkle’ and Holler sounds promising. VERY promising. They still have that retro style going on but this time it reminds me more of cabaret. The MV is something to look out for too. I remember praising Taeyeon for her vocals on ‘Twinkle’ but Tiffany and Seohyun also sound better than ever! Taeyeon hit the high notes, but Tiffany did a nice little ‘rap’ in the bridge. Good job on this one, girls!

Adrenaline is another remake (just like Holler), but I don’t mind. This track reminds me of the 1920s flapper era! It has an amazingly fun sound and it’s unlike I have heard before (either from them, SNSD or anyone else for that matter). The classic drum beat and claps make it very different from Holler but yet equally enjoyable.

For Naega Nege (Whisper) they decided to slow things down a bit, since this is an R&B midtempo à la BENI. I think I like the smooth and sultry approach of the verses most, but the chorus isn’t too bad either with the girls singing in cuter head voices. The music and vocals go perfectly together and it also proves these girls have some of the best vocals in SNSD.

It’s like we’re all over the place on the timeline with this album. Stay has an 80s pop sound, which is sooo different from the other styles on this album as you probably already figured. It’s a typical feelgood song and it also features a nice rap break, which was fun. Maybe not as special as the rest of them, but definitely nice.

Piano! Another midtempo here but with such a different vibe than Naega Nege (Whisper), Only U is sweeter and has this typical ‘you’re the only one for me’ message. This track stands out for me because of the strong vocals and lovely melodies in the chorus. That piano I mentioned gives this song an almost magical feel.

We’ve come to the closer track already, EYES. The album has all these short tracks but this is the shortest at a little over two and a half minutes. I can easily hear why people compare this to Ariana Grande’s ‘Problem’, in fact, it sounds a bit stolen… 😡   It even has the saxophone loops and the same beat breaks, but oh well… I still love it!

I’m so happy to have heard about this album, otherwise I would have never known about it. I gave up on TaeTiSeo pretty much because it had been two and a half years since ‘Twinkle’, but I’m glad they released this. They continued their retro and vintage music style with this and it’s so different from the SNSD sound, they really know how to make something that is completely theirs and I hope they will release more in the future!

Favorite songs: Holler | Adrenaline | Naega Nege (Whisper) | Only U | EYES

OVERALL RATING
starstarstarstarstar
5 stars

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. My first listen to TTS, and I must say it wasn’t too bad. Tae always had the best vocals for me, too, as well as Tiff, sometimes they sound too much alike. Bad choice to have them together, when they sound alike. Seo was a nice choice, but you need a lighter vocal such as, Sunny or Jessica to balance out the vocals.

    Adrenaline sounded like BoA’s Adrenaline, really during the bridge. EYES, was annoying, but you said it sounds like Grande’s music, so no wonder. >_< I like Only U, and Holler was okay.

  2. I wasn’t feeling this! -.- Whisper had me falling asleep and Only U is forgettable. In fact, can I remember anything on this mini? I hated BoA’s Adrenaline but it didn’t sound too bad compared to this one -.- The comparison to Grande for EYES put a smile on my face. So true! xD And that’s not a good thing. Okay, so, I hate 20s cabaret. Don’t get me wrong–I like jazz and I love a song that can make me dance…but…that style just isn’t my thing. It’s weird that I would like Holler, though! Go figure xD Maybe it’s because I remembered it and the tune was pretty catchy. Best song on this mini!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

