Super Junior – DEVIL

July 22, 2015 at 4:57 PM | Posted in Super Junior | 1 Comment

ALBUM REVIEW
Super Junior – DEVIL

1. DEVIL
2. Simply Beautiful
3. Byeori Ttunda (Stars Appear…)
4. Good Love
5. We Can
6. Don’t Wake Me Up
7. Cheotnune Banhaetseupnida (Love at First Sight)
8. Maecheon (Forever with You)
9. Rock’n Shine!
10. Alright

♦ ♦ ♦

DEVIL is a special album by Korean boy group Super Junior, released on July 16, 2015 for their 10th anniversary. This review was requested by SHINee_Girl.

Wow, DEVIL is one catchy way to open an album. By the album cover I wasn’t expecting this song to sound so poppy and uplifting with its guitar-driven melodies. I really don’t know who is who in SUJU but the vocals sound very good (although a little too high pitched in the chorus, but I’m willing to look past that because this sounds so infectuous).

That amazing opening tune is followed by the more mellow midtempo R&B song Simply Beautiful. It has some catchy hooks and lyrics in the chorus that make it more memorable and the SUJU boys’ crooning sounds very good for the overall ambience of the song.

Byeori Tteunda (Stars Appear) is the first ballad on the album and I praise this song for its beautiful piano opening and guitar picking up the melody afterwards. It does have that sound that reminds you of starry skies in some way. There is this soft rock sound to it and it’s the perfect song for them to thank the people who have stood by them for the past 10 years.

Ooh, naughty SUJU. In Good Love they tell their girl to ‘just relax and think of them tonight’. It’s another track with a central role for guitar melodies, but in a funkier way. Somehow I agree they channeled their inner Prince for this one (high vocals and stuff) but they did it very well.

A friendship song, how sweet! We Can features vocals by Kyuhyun, Ryeowook and Yesung (subunit Super Junior K.R.Y.) and their emotional contributions probably have tears welling up in your eyes. It’s the second ballad on the album but it has such a different quality than Byeori Ttunda, I think I might even like this one a bit better because it’s so grand and unique.

For the next track they chose subunit SUPER JUNIOR DONGHAE + EUNHYUK. Don’t Wake Me Up is quite a sweet song with good singing by Donghae and raps by Eunhyuk to spice things up. The midtempo soft rock sound (again guitar-driven) is quite good and makes for a nice addition on the album.

Cheotnune Banhaetseupnida (Love at First Sight) is the surprise on the album with its funky retro sound. Super Junior T (Eunhyuk, Heechul, Kangin, Leeteuk, Shindong and Sungmin) delivered some solid performances for this and I like the humorous lyrics: ‘A guy who is prettier than a girl, that’s me‘ xD  (Thanks YouTube translated videos!)

Next is Super Junior M, the Mandopop subunit, with Maecheon (Forever with You). It’s so nice to see one Chinese song here, it makes clear that there’s room for the true input of every subunit on this album. It’s a nice disco/retro song, a style I haven’t heard on the album yet and I enjoy it very much even though I’m not used to Chinese.

Rock’n Shine! completely blew me away and I think this is by far the most energetic and original song on the entire album. This powerful track features all the members and they really stand their ground singing this blazing rock song. It perfectly shows off their vocal talents too.

Alright sounds slightly reggae inspired, which is funny enough for me to like it already. Even funnier is the verse that is a spin on the member’s names! Donghae’s collab with Team One Sound for the composition works out very well and all the vocals are flawless again. Very catchy tune and a nice way to close the album.

Super Junior isn’t among my regular artists, but for this request I made an exception. I must say I really like this album since it offers something for everyone with its many many styles. I wonder what true E.L.F.s think of this album, but I say they’ve done a great job!

Oh, and I want to thank Internet for not letting me down xD  Otherwise I wouldn’t have known the subunits or even the names of the individual members! o.O

Favorite songs: DEVIL | Byeori Tteunda (Stars Appear) | We Can | Cheotnune Banhaetseupnida (Love at First Sight) | Maecheon (Forever with You) | Rock’n Shine! | Alright

OVERALL RATING
starstarstarstarhalfstar
4½ stars

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thanks for reviewing my request! I’m glad you liked it 😀 I liked how they gave you so much variety on this album and it really made their anniversary feel special. My favorites are “DEVIL” and “We Can” ❤ I've always liked SUJU but I've never been an E.L.F. This album tried to get me there, though xD Great album! 😀


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

