Girls’ Generation – Catch Me If You Can

May 1, 2015 at 6:14 PM | Posted in Girls' Generation | 5 Comments

SINGLE REVIEW
Girls’ Generation – Catch Me If You Can

1. Catch Me If You Can
2. Girls

Catch Me If You Can is the ninth Korean/Japanese digital and physical single by South Korean girl group Girls’ Generation, released on April 22, 2015 (digitally on April 10). The single peaked at #6 on the charts and has sold 20,835 copies to date.

Because this single was released in both Korea and Japan, I wasn’t really sure what to expect. Catch Me If You Can is a Korean song, just to inform you guys. It’s as hot as K-pop can get with a lot of blazing synths and deep beats in the background, it has a lot of edge and sexyness going on. SNSD has released more songs like this in the past, but this easily fits right in with the bunch as an enjoyable dance track. Gets very catchy after a while.

No edgy single is complete without a ballad balancing everything. Girls is the ballad on this single and it starts very peacefully with just a piano and it becomes more of a power ballad as it develops. I think it’s one of the best ballads SNSD has released in a long time with a very memorable hook and amazing vocals (I especially credit Tiffany, Taeyeon and Yoona for this), I could play this on repeat many times!

OVERALL RATING
starstarstarstarhalfstar
4½ stars

 

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The A-side did nothing for me. The chorus is weak, with hardly any tune to it…Is as if they’re just saying, instead of singing ‘Catch me if you can’. Where is my catchy beat of a chorus? “Girls” I liked much better, not a bad song actually. But…

    There is no Jessica 😦 I liked her, and think she stood out among some other girls in the group…They’ll never be the same without her 😦 Never, ever… 😦

    • Good to see a contrasting opinion here 😉 I also liked Girls much better, guess that’s what kept the ratings up. Though I did like the A-side, matter of taste 🙂 I didn’t even realize Jessica was no longer part of the group, but then again I’m just starting to recognize their voices and faces.

  2. I saw “Catch Me if You Can” MV and I didn’t like it at all. The song sucks and they’re not who they used to be. As for “Girls” it’s an okay song but you can forget later. Besides, there are better ballads. Can I go back in the past and continue to live in the 2010-2012 era? That’s when they were the best. I don’t like some of the members but Jessica was okay, her and Taeyeon (Taeyeon is cute, I like her 🙂 ) and they’re just not the same without Jessica. I didn’t think she made that much of a difference until I see them as eight. *Sigh* Maybe it’s a good thing this is their last year. Am I being harsh? :/ (Sorry SNSD but that’s what I think) Anyway, the best to Jessica regarding her solo career!

    • Good to see a contrasting opinion here 🙂 Seems SNSD fans / S♥NE don’t really like this single, even though I think it’s catchy, matter of taste 🙂 What exactly do you mean by this being their last year? Are they breaking up? 😦

      • This is supposed to be their last year and Jessica wanted to do it with them. She was going to stay for the last album but things didn’t work out, of course. It was said that this year would be their last around the time of Jessica leaving (last September). I wouldn’t be surprised if it got changed, though. It probably depends on how successful this comeback is and if the members want to remain a group.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

