Ayumi Hamasaki – Zutto… / Last minute / Walk

December 21, 2014 at 10:28 PM | Posted in Ayumi Hamasaki | Leave a comment

Ayumi Hamasaki – Zutto… / Last minute / Walk

1. Zutto… (Original Mix)
2. Last minute (Original Mix)
3. Walk (Original Mix)
4. Zutto… (Original Mix) – Instrumental-
5. Last minute (Original Mix) – Instrumental-
6. Walk (Original Mix) – Instrumental-

Zutto… / Last minute / Walk is the fifty-third single by Japanese singer Ayumi Hamasaki, released on December 24 2014.

It’s been a while since we had a real digital single release from Ayu! Zutto… takes you to some magical winter wonderland but with a dramatic little twist. I think this song needs to grow on me in the future, but I must say it appeals more to me as it progresses. As soon as the song reaches the second chorus and that amazing guitar solo in the bridge it finally gets to me.

Last minute feels like the better song then, completely throwing me off of my chair. Why? Well, consider the peaceful opening of the song and then suddenly so many electric guitars and percussion are thrown in, it became a lot darker and more mysterious/dramatic all at once. I think this is one of the most aggressive power ballads of that kind Ayu has released lately, I loved it!

I liked the orchestral opening to Walk, which is followed by a lovely melody in the first verse. Although all three songs on this single are winter power ballads, that orchestral touch is what makes this song stand out on its own. Just like Zutto… it takes a little more time to get used to, but then in the end I think I quite like this song too.

Okay so lately I dropped the summary paragraph in single reviews, but this post just wasn’t complete without a little conclusion. Am I the only one who genuinely thinks Ayu has gone back to her roots with this single? Just ditch the electro and give us more of your edgy pop/rock style! That’s why this single deserves extra credit, I have been waiting for this for so long after the disappointment I felt when ‘Colours’ was released.

4 stars

« Previous Page

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.