Super Junior – MAMACITA

December 24, 2014 at 1:36 PM | Posted in Super Junior | 1 Comment

ALBUM REVIEW
Super Junior – MAMACITA

1. MAMACITA (AYAYA)
2. Chumeul Chunda (Midnight Blues)
3. Baegilmong (Evanesce)
4. Saranghi Meotji Anghe (Raining Spell for Love)
5. Shirt
6. THIS IS LOVE
7. Let’s Dance
8. Too Many Beautiful Girls
9. Hwanjeolgi (Mid-season)
10. Islands

♦ ♦ ♦

MAMACITA is the seventh Korean album by South-Korean group Super Junior, released on September 1, 2014. The album was later repackaged as THIS IS LOVE.

This album was requested by one of my friends, let’s see if I will like it as much as you do!

My friend has already shown me the MV for MAMACITA (AYAYA), I thought it was the craziest! Luckily the song itsself is amazing and it’s so catchy it got stuck in my head for weeks after only one listen! I was instantly blown away by Siwon and Kyuhyun opening the song, and Eunhyuk’s rap is an amazing addition to it. This was so catchy I think I’ll put it on repeat O:)

Now I’m using the color coded videos on YouTube to get more familiar with who is who in Super Junior, little fun fact. Chumeul Chunda (Midnight Blues) is a more laid back song after the catchy opening track and the guys sound wonderful together in the chorus. There are some really good singers in the group and here Donghae really stood out for me. I love the midtempo approach with the synths as major instrument here while there’s still a soft and relaxed ambience.

Baegilmong (Evanesce) takes a more pop/R&B approach while also a midtempo track. It’s more on the sad side when it comes to the lyrics and the guys captured it perfectly. Guys like Donghae and Kyuhyun have the perfect sound for songs like this, while Kangin was just too loud and in your face. Other than that, everyone together in the chorus made it close to perfection.

I was longing for something a bit more uptempo now, and Saranghi Meotji Anhge (Raining Spell For Love) is a quite lovely and bouncy track to fulfill my wish. It’s not really uptempo, but it has a bit more sass than the previous two tracks. I love the piano tune playing throughout the song and the little rap section opening the second verse, different than expected. I quite enjoyed this!

Sounds like Suju is getting quirky with Shirt, talking about different! This track is filled with horns and good beats while the guys hit it with some fierce vocals, it all fits very well together and I don’t even mind the ‘shirt sh-shirt shirt‘ chanting, which almost makes it a little too weird. Still, I can’t imagine myself sitting still to this one.

I was almost scared THIS IS LOVE was gonna be another ballad or other type of slow song, judging from the opening, but in the end it turns out this is more a midtempo song with a twist. It reminded me a bit of BoA’s song (with almost the same name) ‘This Is Love’, it has about the same funky influence in the music.

Let’s Dance is as infectuous as the title sounds, continuing the funky influences the previous song had by the inclusion of the guitars leading the arrangement. As the song develops it does seem to take on a more electropop sound too, I love the diversion here.

OMG is Suju going all One Direction on us? At least, that’s just what Too Many Beautiful Girls reminds me of, especially the chorus sounds so much like that famous 1D song in all its summer-ish splendor. Not that it’s a bad thing, I know some of you may not like the comparison but I mean it in a good way. This song is catchy and just pure fluffy, fun!

Hwanjeolgi (Mid-season) is the next summer track that seems almost 80s inspired with the use of the synths and keyboards in the background. The paradox to this song is the uplifting and breezy music in contrast with the depressing lyrics, but oh well… Nice rap too, overall not badly done.

Closing the album, Islands was written by Donghae to express the group’s friendship, I believe. It’s that kind of pensive ballad you would expect near the end of the album, especially with a title like that. There is some really good vocal work here and they picked exactly the right guys to take centre stage here, lighter vocals fit this song best. The soft percussion and strings joining the piano later really let the song take off, lots of love for this one.

This was my first Super Junior album and the title track hauled me over. I must say I was scared the rest of the album was going to be full of filler tracks, but that didn’t happen at all. There are definitely some gems here and I’m sure many Suju fans love this album. I won’t call myself an instant fan, but I guess I will have a lot at some of their other albums as well. Good stuff!

Favorite tracks: MAMACITA (AYAYA) | Saranghi Meotji Anghe (Raining Spell For Love) | Too Many Beautiful Girls | Hwanjeolgi (Mid-season) | Islands

OVERALL RATING
starstarstarstarblankstar
4 stars

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’ve only heard several Suju songs but I would consider myself a fan, just not an ELF haha! A fan and an ELF are different. I actually really liked some of the songs I have heard from them. I’m more prone to these new ones, though xD I actually like a lot of the old ones but you got some good songs on here, I must admit. Another nice review! 😀


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

