SHINee – I’m Your Boy

November 18, 2014 at 8:38 PM | Posted in SHINee | 2 Comments

SHINee – I’m Your Boy

1. Downtown Baby
3. Everybody
4. Picasso
5. 3 2 1
6. 365
7. Sunny Day Hero
8. Perfect 10
9. Bounce
10. Dream Girl
11. Colors of the season
12. Boys Meet U

♦ ♦ ♦

I’m Your Boy is the third Japanese album by South Korean boy group SHINee, released on September 24, 2014. The album debuted at #1 on the charts and has sold 54,524 copies.

Finally SHINee decided to bundle all those great single they have released. First there is a new song opening the album, Downtown Baby, an uptempo track that immediately shakes things up. SHINee always creates the perfect formula for catchy songs and this one is no exception with its brassy and funky elements. Special compliments to Jonghyun.

LUCKY STAR was the group’s latest single and I remember adoring it for its use of funky guitar riffs, piano and beats. The second verse is a rap section this time, which in my opinion always brings much more fun and spontaneity to a song. Each of the guys does an amazing job, but I especially loved Onew’s vocals here. I always underestimate him a bit so…

This Japanese version of Everybody was one of the B-sides on the 3 2 1 single but I first heard this in Korean last year. Well guys, it completely blew me away then and it doesn’t fail to do so now. In their entire discography there probably isn’t another song that comes this close to kicking ass and I love how SHINee explored some dubstep here. The production might be a little artificial at times, but bring on the robots!

Picasso is one of the new treats on the album (which is rare because there are only four new songs). It’s placed perfectly right after Everybody since it continues that danceable agressive style. It’s a very good song and it would’ve been another complete homerun if it wasn’t for the other side of the coin: the fact that it just falls a little bit short when compared to Everybody. Nonetheless, very good.

3 2 1 explores a different musical style, but SHINee probably slays anything so they outdid themselves again with this catchy pop/rock song. The fun thing is that they still manage to add some dancy elements to it, so I don’t know quite how to place this song. Anyway, the great vocals and the fact that this song has me awkwardly bouncing around in my chair makes for bonus points.

A nice guitar riffs opens the next of the new songs: 365 (we stay in the number zone I guess). It tones everything down a bit after five uptempo songs, not that this is a ballad though but despite the little uptempo groove it sounds much more relaxed. It doesn’t do very much for me, they have made better and catchier songs than this one.

I once said I would love to see Sunny Day Hero on an album and it looks like I got my wish. I have always thought this song would be perfect in the Summer with its groovy ambience and guitar riffs. It draws my attention a lot more than the previous track did, it’s catchy but controlled too at the same time. Love it.

Perfect 10 is the last one of the new songs and it’s also the shortest song on the entire album at only 2:44 minutes. By now I can conclude that I’m not too fond of the new songs on this album, this one doesn’t live up to its title either. Still it’s not terrible, I just can’t get into the vibe of this track. It lacks a lot of things, even the vocals could’ve been so much better.

Oh how uplifting, it’s Bounce! This is probably the biggest surprise SHINee has ever given their fans, there isn’t a single song in their entire discography that sounds like this one. It’s jazzy, brassy, original and, as always with SHINee’s music, catchy as hell. I’m developing a soft spot for this song.

Dream Girl is very close to my heart because there hasn’t been a moment where I didn’t enjoy this track for the full 100%. It’s perfect in any language, Korean, Japanese, I don’t even care, I can listen to this energetic track all the time. It’s the perfect example of how original SHINee can stay after releasing a lot of songs with the same sound.

I can’t say much about Colors of the season, just that this is pure perfection and more about feeling it than just listening to it. This ballad touches me even though I don’t understand a word, now that’s what I call good music. Don’t you dare skipping this one.

Closing the album is the amazing Boys Meet U, which I think would’ve been the perfect Summer song for 2013 (when it was released as a single) since I can almost see the beach listening to this song. It’s short but one of the most memorable songs on the album and definitely one of my absolute favorites ❤

SHINee has had some amazing singles leading up to this album, nothing below 4 stars so that should also count for something. I was occupied (and stupid) enough so I didn’t even notice the existence of this album up until a few weeks ago. I had some catching up to do and I’m glad I did, since this just proves over and over that SHINee are the kings of both J-pop and K-pop in the category of ‘boy groups’. The new tracks aren’t that memorable in my opinion, but I’m curious about what you guys have to say about it. For me, the singles featured on this album are what makes this album another feast for the ears.

Favorite tracks: Downtown Baby | LUCKY STAR | Everybody | 3 2 1 | Sunny Day Hero | Bounce | Dream Girl | Colors of the season | Boys Meet U

4 stars



RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thanks for the great review, Jade. I agree with pretty much everything you said. However I thought “Picasso” was the best new song and also one of the best on the album-even better than “Everybody” (never really been too fond of that) Anyway, thanks once again, for following our request! 🙂

  2. Great review but I agree with Cybuster_God_of_Wind when it comes to “Picasso” and “Everybody”. I loooove “Everybody” and it will always have a special place in my heart ❤ But they just can't be compared. Also, "365" was the weakest of the new songs but I find it growing on me more and more. As for the singing with "Perfect 10" the idea behind that was to have a "rappy theme" to it (said by Taemin) and it was supposed to be sung like that. For the people that aren't used to rapping (Taemin, Jonghyun, and Onew) I think they did a great job on the song. Overall, great album, SHINee-oppas! ;D Thanks for the review, Jade! 🙂

Leave a Reply to Cybuster_God_of_Wind Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: