Namie Amuro – TSUKI

January 27, 2014 at 8:48 PM | Posted in Namie Amuro | Leave a comment

SINGLE REVIEW
Namie Amuro – TSUKI

1. TSUKI
2. Neonlight Lipstick
3. Ballerina
4. TSUKI (Instrumental)
5. Neonlight Lipstick (Instrumental)
6. Ballerina (Instrumental)

TSUKI is the thirty-ninth single by Japanese singer Namie Amuro, released on January 29, 2014. Neonlight Lipstick was used as a KOSE ESPRIQUE CM song, and Ballerina was used both as a GUCCI×Vogue Japan promo song and as a Recochoku CM song.

I’m so excited for this new single, it has definitely been a while since Namie last released a single (March 2013). TSUKI sounds the way the cover looks, and by that I mean that the song has a nice wintery touch to fit the time of year as well. It’s not your typical ballad so I’d dub this a peaceful midtempo song that reminds me of BENI’s music somehow. The arrangement is quite peaceful with a nice harp taking centre stage and Namie herself keeps her vocals controlled yet strong. Love this one!

So the two B-sides were both released previously as digital singles, but since I’m not too fond of the digital single type of releases, this is my first encounter with both tracks. Neonlight Lipstick is a 180 from the A-side with a deep and pumping vibe, so it brings a nice contrast to the single although this is an older song. It’s very edgy and Namie shows some attitude performing this song, not too bad but still I’ll have to prefer the A-side.

The other B-side, Ballerina, is an uptempo song too. It’s badass, but to me it just seems a little empty and sometimes I really don’t get the vibe that’s going on. Namie’s vocals are altered way too much for my liking. I was hoping for something better. I can still get used to this, I suppose, but the first impression isn’t too good.

OVERALL RATING
starstarstarhalfstarblankstar
3½ stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

