SHINee – Boys Meet U

November 15, 2013 at 5:13 PM | Posted in SHINee | 3 Comments

ALBUM REVIEW
SHINee – Boys Meet U

1. Password
2. Breaking News
3. Dazzling Girl
4. 1000nen, Zutto Soba ni Ite…
5. Run With Me
6. Kiss Yo
7. Kimi ga Iru Sekai
8. Keeping love again
9. BURNING UP!
10. Sherlock
11. Fire
12. I’m with you

♦ ♦ ♦

Boys Meet U is the second Japanese album by South Korean boy group SHINee, released on June 26, 2013. The album debuted at #2 on the Oricon Charts and it sold 56,215 copies in its first week.

Password is an interesting song opening the album since it’s midtempo, but it has an amazing drum beat and some really attractive melodies. It has both rock elements and a lot of synths in the background, which makes for a very nice band-like combination (instead of the typical boy group type of song). Most fans don’t seem to dig this song but I think it’s an amazing and original album opener.

Then everything takes flight when Breaking News drops in with its fierce energy. It’s like most other songs SHINee releases most of the time, it just screams that this is their style. Fast paced beats, many synths, your occassional autotune and such and you’re done. It has the same flair that songs like ‘Lucifer’ also had. I totally love it when they put in an electric guitar solo AND Minho’s rap part, this kicks ass  big time.

I was soooo excited back when Dazzling Girl was released as a single, I completely adored it and it never left my mind. It was a battle between this song and the next for which song was gonna be SHINee’s best 2012 single and it was a very close call. Even though it wasn’t this song, I still love the energetic and breathtakingly catchy feel; this song has everything a good song needs.

1000nen, Zutto Soba ni Ite… became the best SHINee song of 2012 and listening to it now doesn’t make me regret my choice. It’s SHINee’s winter midtempo ballad with those cute little bells in the background during the beginning of the song, which is very cute. Onew has his fingerprints all over the chorus during the higher notes, very well done, even more so because this is usually Jonghyun’s job. One of my favorites!

Run With Me was the B-side for Dazzling Girl and I remember loving it to bits so I’m glad to see it on the album! It’s midway between a ballad and a midtempo, incorporating some very nice piano notes and strings in the arrangement and very pretty harmonizations by the boys in the chorus. Every guy sings some lines in this song, even Minho (who isn’t the best singer tbh, but he’s okay here). Onew and Key own this shiz though!

Wow, what the heck… Kiss Yo is one of the new songs and it just kicks you right in the teeth. Ever wondered what rock and dubstep combined sounds like? Try this one, this is just… weird but in some strange way enjoyable too. It’s more a singsong/rap track with some random chanting in the chorus, and the energy coming from the arrangement is just overwhelming, oh my. This is some interesting stuff! A tad too long though, it could’ve ended at 3:30 minutes if you ask me.

I imagine being so impressed by Kimi ga Iru Sekai, this song is quite simple yet very effective and breathtaking. Being a midtempo ballad it just needs a piano, beats and electric guitars. And oh yes, some incredible vocals, especially by Onew, Jonghyun and Key. This is not just one of my favorite songs on this album, but also one of my all-time favorite SHINee songs, so make sure you don’t miss out on this one!

Keeping love again was the B-side for their Japanese ‘Sherlock’ single, which we’ll encounter later. I remember comparing this to ‘Kiss Kiss Kiss’ and therefore I wasn’t impressed by this, but now in another context I think it’s a very nice R&B midtempo track which sounds good right behind Kimi ga Iru Sekai. Still it’s not my favorite, but at least it’s also not as bad as I thought. I actually like it!

The next song is BURNING UP!, one of the new songs. After some softer songs and a song that was almost too crazy to handle, SHINee finally found their way into creating an energetic uptempo track again without completely blowing up my ears (albeit that was in kind of a good way). It’s their typical beats + synths song, with some amazing additions by a funky electric guitar to spice it up a bit. Special credits to Jonghyun for those crazy adlibs.

Sherlock was the first single released for the album and although I wasn’t impressed with the Korean mini-album with the same name, this song always was nailing it. The instrumental synth part opening the song set exactly the right tone for everything that follows, which is an electro song with some nice and original brassy influences. Although it’s composed of two seperate songs, that never seems obvious to me.

I’m in love with Fire, this right here is pure perfection so I don’t even know how to talk about this one without cramming out gibberish. R&B ballads are what I love, and this one just knocks me down right from the start. It’s Jonghyun’s song, obviously, but the other guys aren’t too bad either. Everyone delivers a killer performance, especially in that amazing chorus this song has. Most perfect SHINee song ever, period.

I’m with you closes the album in quite an emotional way if you ask me. It’s a ballad in triple time, very much on the simple side (especially after Fire) but that leaves more to the vocals to dazzle the listener. This song builds up in a very good way, leading into a climactic ending with some of Jonghyun best adlibs ever (where has that guy been all my life..). Very good ending to an amazing album!

Alrighty, I’ve found another album that is definitely gonna make the cut for the ‘Best of 2013 – Albums’ post in December (but hush, that’s a secret ;p). I love love LOVE the singles the guys released before this album came out, and to see them all united here on one record is like eargasm to me. Adding some great new songs to it adds even more to the love I feel for these guys. Just one thing: this release is again proof that I’m starting to like their Japanese material better than their Korean. I don’t want to start a war against SHINee’s Korean music lovers, but well, that’s just what I think. This album is all the proof I need, since every song is memorable in its own way and lately I can’t say that about their Korean releases. So let me just drool over this one OK? 😀 Great!

Favorite tracks: Password | Breaking News | Dazzling Girl | 1000nen, Zutto Soba ni Ite… | Run With Me | Kimi ga Iru Sekai | Sherlock | Fire

OVERALL RATING
starstarstarstarstar
5 stars

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This album is….PERFECTION!!! 😀 ❤

  2. Minus “Kiss Yo” and “Burning Up” -_- Then sure it’s perfect. Of course 1000 is the BEST!!!

    • Yeah, I’m not a fan of “Burning Up” but “Kiss Yo” is an okay song. Just not worth having on an MP3, which makes it sound bad, doesn’t it? :/ Lol!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

