BoA – Message / Call my name

October 30, 2013 at 4:56 PM | Posted in BoA | 1 Comment

SINGLE REVIEW
BoA – Message / Call my name

1. Message
2. Call my name
3. Message (Inst)
4. Call my name (Inst)

Message / Call my name is the thirty-fifth Japanese single by South-Korean singer BoA, released on October 23, 2013. The single debuted at #8 on the Oricon charts and sold 5,800 copies in its first week.

BoA, it’s been so long! I love the sound of Message, a bit of a kumbaya-song compared to BoA’s usual sound. The arrangement consists of acoustic guitars, handclaps and mostly drum bass, something I love in music. The song is quite simple and short but yet very effective, bound to lift your spirit with the musical ambience and positive lyrics.

After a sweet song like Message, Call my name had to have a little more spice to balance it out. True, there’s more tempo in this one and there is the addition of some synths in the background, but the song still has a very light and breezy sound. It’s very interesting that soft piano notes and synth riffs sound so well together, I never expected that. BoA’s vocals are as good as always, something that never disappoints. I expected a little more from this song though. Message is the better song on this single after all.

OVERALL RATING
starstarstarhalfstarblankstar
3½ stars

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. 3 and-a-half stars…? 😦 But this is better than that.

    I really liked this single, with two fantastic songs! 🙂 Believe it or not Jade, I actually prefer ‘Call my name’ over ‘Message’, for I found the song very unique, a little something different from BoA, but both are still very good songs!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

