Koda Kumi – 4 hot wave

June 17, 2013 at 7:19 PM | Posted in Koda Kumi | 1 Comment

SINGLE REVIEW
Koda Kumi – 4 hot wave

1. INTRODUCTION ~I’ll be there~
2. Ningyo-hime
3. I’ll be there
4. INTERLUDE ~JUICY・Ningyo-hime
5. JUICY
6. With your smile
7. OUTRODUCTION ~With your smile~

4 hot wave is the thirty-second single by Japanese singer Koda Kumi, released on July 26, 2006. The single reached #2 on Oricon charts and charted for 17 weeks. It sold 207,484 units in it’s first week and the most recent figures show that it sold a total of 390,685 units.

This is the CD+DVD version of the single, which explains the extra tracks. One of those is INTRODUCTION ~I’ll be there~, which ofcourse is an opening track that uses the elements from one of the four main songs (I’ll be there). It’s pretty short, but for me it always makes me want to have the main track right now.

So it doesn’t flow well into Ningyo-hime, the first main track on the single. It’s the heavy rock song of the bunch, and also one of Kuu’s most rock influenced songs in her discography (together with ‘Can We Go Back’ and such). Although it comes as quite a shock after a relaxed guitar influenced introduction track, this song is a very good example of what good rock should sound like. Kuu gives a great vocal performance and it’s definitely putting her in another perspective. As an individual track this just works and it’s pretty fierce.

And there it is, then: I’ll be there. The main version features the same laid back acoustic guitar arrangement, along with some drums and synths, but there’s even more life in this song. It’s light and sweet, and I always like to think there’s a sense of hope coming from this song. It took me a while to recognize what a gem this song actually is, but now I fully appreciate everything this song is. One of the recommendations on this single.

INTERLUDE ~JUICY・Ningyo-hime is very interesting since it mixes JUICY and Ningyo-hime together, two very different songs, and it sets the songs to a nice hiphop beat. Especially Ningyo-hime comes out great with that beat, but it fits together quite well.

The main song JUICY is a song that is a little bit on the edge, if you know what I mean. Like, this song is about sex. Let’s make that clear, ok. But besides the moaning in the background, the sultry music and its Arabian elements there is no emphasis on the ‘dirty’ concept. In fact, if you look past it, this is just a good song and it’s even the most laid back song on the single. It’s controversial, but I always say ‘Ima Sugu Hoshii’ is much worse.

With your smile is the happy party song on the single, and now when I think of it it’s like a combination of songs like ‘real Emotion’ and ‘COME WITH ME’. It’s very danceable and summer song material, the lyrics can get a little weird sometimes but I’ll pretend I didn’t hear that. This is one of those tracks I always tended to overlook, until I heard it on this single. It got a little bit more of my attention after that, so now I can say I really like this track!

To close the single (the CD+DVD version that is), we have the cute OUTRODUCTION ~With your smile~, which is mostly a instrumental version of the last main song. It only lasts for about a minute though, which is a bummer. Another bummer is that a minute of silence follows, like, what’s the point in that. A very bad synthesized version of Ningyo-hime comes up after that. There’s nothing wrong with the sound of the synths, they just don’t fit the vocal melodies. Bummer.

OVERALL RATING
starstarstarstarblankstar
4 stars

 

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Totally agree with this! I completely overlooked “I’ll be there” when it was first released, but it’s become a favorite of mine (even after my love of “JUICY” and “Ningyohime” died down a bit.)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

