SHINee – Fire

April 6, 2013 at 4:16 PM | Posted in SHINee | 1 Comment

SINGLE REVIEW
SHINee – Fire

1. Fire
2. MOON RIVER WALTZ

Fire is the seventh Japanese single released by South Korean group SHINee on March 13, 2013. The single debuted at #3 on the Oricon charts and has sold 53,827 copies to date.

It’s been a while since I last listened to their music while I’m a huge fan, shame on me.. Fire brings SHINee back to my attention instantly with its beautiful R&B midtempo style. This could have been a generic song because of that style, they use it so much, but the chorus is so amazing it knocks over all my expectations. This song features some amazing vocals, especially in that chorus, but I’m especially proud of Minho who is receiving more and more lines with every release now. Jonghyun still has the most vocal influence, but I’ll admit he’s the best vocalist in the group anyway.

The first thing I thought when I saw the title MOON RIVER WALTZ was: “If this song is not in triple time, I’m gonna hit someone”. Thank god it lives up to its title, it saved me from physically abusing my desk, haha. In contrast to the A-side, this song is a calmer ballad that approaches a more acoustic pop style with the use of an acoustic guitar and soft percussion. The fact that most of the vocal techniques were pretty much held back during the song contributes to the fact that you can relax more to it, it’s serene and just the perfect contrast song on the single.

SHINee surprised me once again with Fire. I’m not sure surprised is the right word to describe it, but at least they brought themselves back to my attention with this single. The A-side was one of the best I’ve heard this year and even in their entire discography so far, which makes me a very very proud fan. The single doesn’t really display everything this group is capable of, for that I’d like to recommend singles like 1000 Nen, Zutto Soba ni Ite… . Nonetheless, another perfect example of perfection ❤

OVERALL RATING
starstarstarstarstar
5 stars

 

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Perfection! Beautiful songs!!! Love it! ❤ 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

