Mika Nakashima – Ashita Sekai ga Owaru Nara

January 30, 2013 at 4:20 PM | Posted in Mika Nakashima | Leave a comment

SINGLE REVIEW
Mika Nakashima – Ashita Sekai ga Owaru Nara

1. Ashita Sekai ga Owaru Nara
2. SUPER WOMAN
3. Dear -DJ AMIGA REMIX-
4. Ashita Sekai ga Owaru Nara (Instrumental)

Ashita Sekai ga Owaru Nara is the thirty-fifth single by Mika Nakashima, released on September 19, 2012. The title track was used as the theme song for the movie Resident Evil: Retribution. The single debuted at #9 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and has sold 16,714 copies to date.

Wow, Resident Evil, that’s pretty awesome. Ashita Sekai ga Owaru Nara really sounds like this ending theme song to a movie like that, since it is fairly dark and mysterious. It eventually builds from being small, with just a piano accompanying Mika, into something stronger and more foreboding. I have to say that I’m really on the edge with Mika’s vocals here, and now I know what’s wrong: she overuses her vibrato and sounds like she has a lot of difficulty singing this song. But alright, if I have to judge this song by the music only, then it’s a good song.

Ehrm, I really didn’t expect SUPER WOMAN to be this showgirl kind of track with a jazzy piano melody, brass instruments and background singers. Thank god Mika herself sounds way better here, exept for her pronunciation of the title words (‘My name is ‘super wuman’). I think it’s good how they tried to contrast the A-side with the B-side when it comes to the sounds, and if I have to choose I’d pick this one over the A-side anytime. Even though this isn’t the best song ever either.

Dear -DJ AMIGA REMIX- luckily isn’t some kind of dance remix, they actually retained the original acoustic guitar sound! All they did was mixing in some more beats, and I think they even turned up the tempo of the song. It definitely has more of a kick now, I love what they did to it.

I’m not sure whether I will ever like the A-side, and Mika herself screwed up half of the B-side, but still I have to give this single some points for its balanced concept and musical styles. The music for all three tracks was very good, Mika tackled about every musical style there is with this single, but I’m sorry I just can’t stand her vocals sometimes. It’s like she has difficulty singing both lower and higher notes and long notes. Apart from that, I guess she did alright again, with the remix being the best song on this single.

OVERALL RATING
starstarstarhalfstarblankstar
3½ stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

