MusicAddiction In The Mix: Koda Kumi Part I, Sexy Kuu

January 22, 2013 at 12:31 PM | Posted in !InTheMix! | Leave a comment

Color The Cover, Koda Kumi’s second cover album, is on its way! To celebrate this in a special way, I thought of a Koda Kumi: In The Mix special. This Mix special has two parts, with this being the first: Part I, Sexy Kuu. It’s what it says on the tin: a mix of Koda Kumi’s sexiest songs or songs that have the most attitude in my opinion. I thought it would be pretty fun to do this. Stay tuned for Part II, Cutie Kumi (working on it as we speak) and for now enjoy this sexy mix!

Listen to the mix here:

TABOO
(00:00 – 00:30)

To really kick things off, TABOO starts the mix. If you’ve seen the PV, you know where this is heading. When this song was released a couple of years ago, I very much enjoyed its fierce and sexy ambience and I have loved it ever since. The lyrics to the song give it a mysterious touch, along with some typical taboos that Kuu is bashing here. One of those sexy Kuu songs that just had to be in this mix, and what better way than to open the mix with this song.

JUICY
(00:30
01:00)

The first song to start huuuge controversies, no wonder it’s here. JUICY features a lot of moaning, it’s a song that oozes sex. Simple as that. It’s one of Kumi’s sides that you either enjoy or you don’t, and in some way I do. I think it’s funny and playful, and surely I’m not stressed out or made uncomfortable by it at all. It takes a lot of guts to pull this off and she made it the perfect sensual song.

Ima Sugu Hoshii
(01:00 – 01:30)

I decided to feature the cool rap part of the song in this mix, also because that part has the most controversial lyrics (that you can also understand most of the time without speaking a single word of Japanese). Just listen closely and after the first part you hear that Kuu is letting loose with her sexual content, if you hear it for the first time I know you are sitting there right now with your jaw somewhere on the ground.

So Nice (feat. Mr Blistah)
(01:30 – 02:00)
As the third song in a row that is actually all about sex, we have this newer one from her latest album JAPONESQUE (I could still burn that title but w/e). You never really think about it with this track, but when you do it becomes quite obvious that this is another controversial song because of multiple things: the musical ambience, the presence of Mr Blistah (with his creepy voice) and some of the lyrics in the chorus. It just says it all.

Cutie Honey
(02:00 – 02:30)
Leaving all that stuff behind us for now, we have a song that is more about attitude and overall feel. Maybe some of you don’t get why I put this song in this particular mix, but to me this song is all about its attitude. It’s so different from the other songs in Kumi’s discography, and that’s what makes it stand out as well. It took me quite some time before I could enjoy this song because it seemed to ‘meh’ to me at first, but now I can appreciate everything it stands for.

Physical thing
(02:30 – 03:00)
Speaking of attitude, this one has it all. It’s one of my all time favorite uptempo Kumi songs with a lot of synths going on, the heavy beats and smooth tempo together deliver one of the most kickass tracks in her entire career. At first I thought it was pretty generic, just because it’s a dance song (and I can’t stand dance music), but now I really enjoy the ‘fiyaah’ in this track, if you know what I mean. Dang, Kuu has a lot of songs you need to get used to before you give your ‘el-oh-vee-ee’.

Heat (feat. Megaryu)
(03:00 – 03:30)

If you ask me, this song is pretty underrated but I’m sure 90% of you guys will disagree since I mostly read about negative comments on this B-side for ‘Chase’. But when I listened to the single, not only the A-side caught my attention. It’s the amazing hybrid of Jamaica meets Middle East in this track that made me love it, even with Megaryu included. It’s just so sassy and sensual, and although the melodies aren’t the best, there’s still something about this song.

Black Cherry
(03:30 – 04:00)
Ahhh this song is my bf ❤  Like, if I could marry a song, it would be this one. It’s perfect with its deep beats, created by some low male vocals in the background and a real drum bass together, and its ‘bring it on’ attitude makes it perfect for this mix. It may be a little superficial, but not every song needs to be deep (otherwise I would’ve made another mix). I wish I could include the last portion of the (full version) song as well because it’s just too good, but I had to make a decision here. So all I can say is: beware of this biatch ❤

Lollipop
(04:00 – 04:30)
I can’t really remember for the full 100%  why I put in this track, I guess it was because of the misunderstanding of the lyrics. OH COME ON, as if you didn’t think she sang ‘I touch your booty, booty // Baby boy we’re gonna party‘ instead of her dodging a bullet and pulling it. And okay, the lyrics ‘Lick my lollipop‘ were pretty obvious too. So… let’s just make this a little joke among fans and just laugh at this track, shall we 😀

Cherry Girl
(04:30 – 05:00)
The other Cherry song! This Cherry song is a little more like ‘country gone 007’, it’s so ready for the soundtrack of a spy movie like James Bond or something like that. Anyway, when I heard this song for the first time it didn’t need to grow on me, I instantly loved it for its amazingly fierce attitude (and the PV is just too sensual, just watch it). I knew it had to be included in this mix, otherwise it wouldn’t have been complete.

Go to the top
(05:00 – 05:30)
The newest song on this list, one of Kuu’s latest singles and because it was such a hot mess I immediately thought of this track while making the mix. I adored the daring hybrid of heavy rock music and dubstep, it’s the perfect base for a sexy song with a lot of attitude. The full version even has many more surprises but even this little 30 seconds sneak peak will blow everyone’s mind.

KO-SO-KO-SO
(05:30 – 06:00)
Last but not least, there’s the ‘sexy song from 4 Times’ KO-SO-KO-SO. I think I included this song in here mostly because of the PV (Kuu making out with another woman, says enough), but ofcourse the song has its attitude as well. It’s not one of the first tracks I thought of when I came up with this concept, but eventually I decided to include it because it was still a sexy song, good enough to be here.

Join me soon for Part II, I hope you enjoyed the first round!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

