Dal★Shabet – Supa Dupa Diva

January 4, 2013 at 5:49 PM | Posted in Dal★Shabet | Leave a comment

MINI-ALBUM REVIEW
Dal★Shabet – Supa Dupa Diva

1. Dal★Shabet (feat. Bigtone)
2. Supa Dupa Diva
3. Maeryeokdeongeori
4. Oh! WoW! (feat. KOONTA)
5. Supa Dupa Diva (Inst.)

♦ ♦ ♦

Supa Dupa Diva is the debut mini-album by South-Korean girl group Dal★Shabet, released on January 4, 2011.

Dal★Shabet (feat. Bigtone) is so different from what I thought it would be. I thought this was gonna be another overly cute K-pop group, but their first track is pretty agressive with lots of synths and deep bass beats. Bigtone opens with his reggae influenced raps, Dal★Shabet’s girls follow with their own raps and I must say they really spice up the track. It’s just an introduction, but it definitely drew my attention!

No chipmunks! Dal★Shabet’s vocals are actually very good in Supa Dupa Diva, a playful, brassy and very original track in the K-pop business. After only half of the song I recognize the elements that can make a song extremely addictive, so watch out when you listen to this track. If the first track drew my attention, this one even overshadows that one with its fun sound and amazing appeal.

Maeryeokdeongeori (what..?) is another agressive song like the first one, but more in the electropop genre this time. Blazing synths and beats all over the place, and sometimes even a little nod to dubstep. Dal★Shabet really knows how to make their songs catchy as hell, with their ‘B-I-N-G-O‘ chanting all through the song. Their singsong rapping kinda fits the overall mood of the track too. I though this one would be the lesser track, but noooo.

Oh! WoW! (feat. KOONTA) really surprised me with its tropical island vibe. The vocals could be better during the verses, but damn this song is pleasant to listen to. Like, I can imagine myself on Hawaii right now! I think Ka Eun and/or Ah Young did the rap parts here, but one of them has such a good and unique voice for it, I have to find out which girl is which in this group. KOONTA isn’t very superfluous, he adds a little extra to the background vocals but it’s not like the track wouldn’t work without him.

Probably the biggest surprise here is that Dal★Shabet isn’t the overly cute chipmunk/bunny/Smurfs group I thought they would be. JUST LOOK AT THAT COVER, it totally is in contradiction with their musical style! The moment that the hiphop beat in the first track blasted through my speakers, I knew. I was so wrong about these girls, but if you have been following my blog for a while, you know it’s a common thing that I’m wrong about artists. Have I found a new group? Probably, let’s see if the rest of their discography is good too.

OVERALL RATING
starstarstarstarstar
5 stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

