Dal★Shabet – Bling Bling

January 4, 2013 at 6:31 PM | Posted in Dal★Shabet | Leave a comment

MINI-ALBUM REVIEW
Dal★Shabet – Bling Bling

1. Beep
2. Bling Bling
3. Dream In U
4. Moonlight
5. Bling Bling (Inst.)

♦ ♦ ♦

Bling Bling is the third mini-album by South-Korean girl group Dal★Shabet, released on August 11, 2011.

Beep is the third good intro track on a Dal★Shabet album, and although it’s a lot shorter than the other ones I know, it totally kicks ass and it lives up to its title. Beep is all about electronic madness, it seamlessly leads into the next track.

The lead track: Bling Bling. Like I said it seems like it just flows out of the intro track in an almost organic way. It’s probably Dal★Shabet’s most original song to date with actual lyrics in the chorus instead of just chanting one or two words, and the fast tempo of the music works well around all the synths it features. Being another one of their electropop songs it had to be original, and it did just that. Loved Ah Young’s ‘Just DISCO, just DISCO‘ parts.

Dream In U is also a dance/pop song, but I think this one is much more influenced by Europop in some parts of the track. I think it’s the first track I encounter that I’m not that fond of, because it has no climax or buildup or anything that comes off as a highlight. It flows a little too well if you know what I mean, and I don’t want to call it boring right away but I’m just saying that I don’t find myself fully enjoying this song.

I’m forever giving up hope for a ballad, officially. Moonlight is a quircky little song with both 70s/80s and modern elements, which gives a very nice hybrid. It’s like going to ‘Funky Town’, harhar. The musical patterns in this track are quite generic, but still there’s something about it that sounds appealing. It’s the typical Dal★Shabet song that mixes cute with fiesty, including some nice rap parts. Catchy.

I’ve listened to three of their minis now, and although there’s nothing terribly wrong with this release I must say I dislike this one the most. It’s not crap or anything, on the contrary, but still I think ‘Supa Dupa Diva’ wears the crown, followed by ‘Pink Rocket’. I must hand it to them, Dal★Shabet knows how to make a song catchy. The songs that will probaby stay with me the most are Bling Bling and Moonlight, the latter in particular. I know they have two more minis and a complete album out, so I’m curious about the rest of their discography. I hope it doesn’t continue the trend of making every release a little less good than its predecessor.

OVERALL RATING
starstarstarstarblankstar
4 stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

