Girls’ Generation – I Got A Boy

January 2, 2013 at 11:52 AM | Posted in Girls' Generation | Leave a comment

ALBUM REVIEW
Girls’ Generation – I Got A Boy

1. I Got A Boy
2. Dancing Queen
3. Baby Maybe
4. Malhaebwa
5. Promise
6. Express 999
7. Yuriai
8. Look at Me
9. XYZ
10. Nangmangil

♦ ♦ ♦

I Got A Boy is the fourth Korean album by South-Korean girl group Girls’ Generation, released on January 1, 2013. Ten versions of the album were released, nine of which use a single member’s photo as a cover, and one of which uses a group photo. Each version of the album includes a different 40-page photobook.

First of all, happy 2013! Let’s start the year with one of 2013’s first releases. I Got A Boy opens with a pretty sick beat, and after that it turns into this cute little mash-up as it were since there are practically 4 different musical styles in the first minute only. From hiphop to synthpop to even some little nods to dubstep, this song is all over the place. It takes some time to get used to, but it has a lot of flair and in the end it’s one of the kick-ass songs I need in my K-pop music collection.

Wtf Dancing Queen sounds just like Duffy’s song ‘Mercy’. I never thought K-pop groups/artists would use an entire song from the Western culture, translate it and give it another title. It’s almost an exact cover and that’s why I just can’t call this song Dancing Queen, but rather give it its original title. The girls sing it just like Duffy did so I hear practically nothing original here. Still, the concept is funny I guess. Love Taeyeon’s vocals here.

After that soulful pop track, we transfer to cute pop with Baby Maybe. I love how this song is filled with cute little harp chords, it makes it so much lighter than the previous two songs. I really can’t tell these girls apart yet (can someone please give me a tip on how to start..), but all their vocals are very good and the lighter vocals are perfect for the style of this song. I think it’s very sweet and poppy and I could adore this song after a while.

As the shortest song on the album, Malhaebwa is not only the Korean version of their song ‘BOOMERANG’ but it has something funky about it that I really like. It’s got some blazing synths, some kind of hop to it and it’s what actually makes it more fun than it usually would have been. Something about the tempo makes this a nice song at this point on the tracklist to give it a more carefree feel.

Promise is the first ballad on the album (wow, what a versatile tracklist). With its R&B flavor, it’s definitely something I would already like before I’ve even heard the chorus. That’s exactly what happened, but the rest of the song didn’t disappoint either. I love it when the girls sing ‘What about us, what about us..‘, they give the song the emotional touch it needs but they don’t overdo it. Lovely ballad.

On to the sixth song, Express 999, and it’s kind of a weird song when it comes to the musical patterns. It starts off with a funky verse, but the chorus turns to typical K-pop/dance. There isn’t really a transition between the different part, but a pro of using two different musical styles in one song is that it instantly becomes more special and it drew my attention. The first song I encounter that isn’t an instant fav.

Apparently, Express 999 was trapped between two ballads. Yuriai is the next ballad and it’s more of a pop ballad, also it’s a bit more emotional than Promise. The best thing about this song would definitely be the vocals, the girls did an amazing job on singing their adlibs and harmonies. The song builds into a more powerful feel and the drums give it that extra kick. Very nice.

Look at Me, let’s kick ASS (yes, I said it). Despite the fact that this is quite a short track at little over three minutes, it’s so badass I love it from the first second to the last. Filled with attitude, fast beats, synth accents and craziness all the way, it’s one of the standout song on the second half of the tracklist. There’s a sense of mystery about it as well with an electric guitar playing in the background during a short instrumental bridge. This track is over way too soon.

XYZ is what I would call a typical (and maybe generic) K-pop song because of its electropop sound that is very popular among K-pop artists, but I’ll forgive SNSD because it’s the first song of this kind I encounter on this album. It has a nice bounce to it and the adlibs near the end of the song were pretty awesome, but as for the rest of the song’s vibes, I still have to get into the groove. Yet it has potential because the lyrics are quite catchy.

The opening to Mangnangil is amazing, a beautiful piano part that leads into a unique piano-filled track with a jazzy feel to it. I really didn’t expect this track to sound they way it did, but I can tell you that it definitely works for me. It reminds me of another song that I like but I can’t seem to figure out which one. Yet the fact that I also liked that one instantly means that this is a pretty good track in my opinion as well. Good album closer!

Before even listening to this album, I was pretty much discouraged by some comments I heard. It would be a bad album, it would suck, whatever more, but let me tell you: DISAGREED. I think this album is amazing, and since it’s the first SNSD album I took my time for, it’s a nice way to get acquainted with the girls. It seems that they put numerous musical styles on one album, even with only ten tracks on it, which is always a great pro if you ask me. I think they tried to be original with this, and they succeeded. I can see myself loving this album for sure, a great way to open the year 2013!

Favorite tracks: I Got A Boy | Dancing Queen |Baby Maybe | Malhaebwa | Promise | Yuriai | Look at Me | Mangnangil

OVERALL RATING
starstarstarstarhalfstar
4½ stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

