Best of 2012: ~Last FM Listening Trends~

December 27, 2012 at 11:34 AM | Posted in !Features! | Leave a comment

Every year, it appears I get a slightly different taste in music. I discover new artists, get tired of other ones, someone releases something that I absolutely love and get addicted to… So this is the second time I feature this list in the Best of 2012 post series, and it’s very different from the one I featured last year (except for the #1 spot ofcourse). From December 27, 2011 to December 27, 2012, I count my plays per artist with Last FM and here is my personal top 10 for this year! Less plays than last year, but that’s because I didn’t listen to much music during the first half of this year. But I made up for that during the past month with 2000 plays…

Bear with me!

1. Disney – 1,596 plays
Last year: #1
Just like last year, I’m not gonna explain this one, haha. If you know me, you know I’m a complete Disney fanatic, and I have this amazing collection box with 5 discs, containing a total of 125 Disney songs that I put on every once in a while. Mostly when I’m busy with my studies. Listening to Disney music always makes me very happy and I want to sing along to all the songs, so hallelujah, Disney can really brighten your day!

2. Koda Kumi – 974 plays
Last year: #3
The rising star on the list for this year is Kuu! My sweet Kuu, she has released one of the best albums of this year! JAPONESQUE may have had a weird title, but the songs on it were so GOOD. I definitely gave some of them a lot of plays this year (‘V.I.P. feat. T-Pain’, ‘No Man’s Land’, etc.). Besides, I decided to listen to her entire discography during a marathon twice this year, so that counted for a lot of plays too. And like I said last year, she gets better with every release, right?

3. Ayumi Hamasaki – 871 plays
Last year: #2
In 2011 I thought she did better than Kuu, but that was mostly because of their album releases in that year, This year the tables have turned and I was actually less enthousiastic about Ayu’s releases. Her album ‘Party Queen’ wasn’t what I expected it to be, although it wasn’t a complete disaster, but then she turned out her two mini-albums later this year and I only liked one of them entirely. The other one… well… just the original mix tracks. Three more releases are planned for the 15th anniversary release party, and I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

4. Christina Aguilera – 372 plays
Last year: #7
The biggest jump upwards on this list! And guess what, it’s all thanks to her album Lotus, in my opinion the best album of the year 2012 (like you probably have seen in the best albums post). That album was amazing, so original (yeah, laugh at me, I know you disagree), I just LOVED it okay. I still put it on repeat every week because I just can’t seem to grow tired of it. I really hope she’s still gonna tour with the album, can’t wait to see her live performing all the amazing songs!

5. Maroon 5 – 322 plays
Last year: n.a.
New on this list, and my biggest obsession this year: Maroon 5! Somehow I got the Maroon bug during this year and I just couldn’t stop listening to their music, especially during the last couple of weeks where I constantly had their second album (‘It Won’t Be Soon Before Long’) on repeat. Badly. So what did I do to make my obsession even worse? I booked tickets for their Overexposed Tour! July 3, Ziggo Dome, Amsterdam, HERE I COME!

6. BoA – 227 plays
Last year: #6
Relatively, nothing has changed for BoA. Except for the absolute playcounts maybe, but compared to the rest of the artists’ plays she’s still at #6. She hasn’t released anything except for a tiny little mini-album, so I guess it’s not a big surprise for me to have less BoA plays this year. I really hope she’ll come with a big new release in 2013, I prefer a Korean album, because I don’t think I will ever grow tired of her music and amazing vocals!

7. alan – 222 plays
Last year: #4
The biggest drop on the list, and it’s actually because I got a bit tired of listening to the same songs every time. alan hasn’t released an appealing new thing in ages (‘Love Song’ was quite forgettable to me in the end) and she has completely disappeared from the Japanese market. Such a shame, I had big hopes for her. But then she returned to China and decided to do nothing shocking or big anymore. She dropped 333 plays this year, isn’t that crazy?

8. Kalafina – 215 plays
Last year: n.a.
These plays are from the last one and a half month only, so as you can see everything here is relative. I decided to pick up where I left off with their music, and the result was me putting their albums on repeat for… I don’t even remember how long. Long, anyway. Like I said a lot of times before: it’s amazing how a couple of Japanese girls became part of the FictionJunction concept and teamed up to become the fabulous subgroup Kalafina, and if you ask me they’re the most appealing subgroup there is. The vocals, the musical style, the ambience, I’m addicted. They’re gonna rise on this list for next year, for sure.

9. Namie Amuro – 207 plays
Last year: n.a.
Why wasn’t this woman on the list last year… Anyway, I think most of the plays she has this year are from her latest album ‘Uncontrolled’, another one of my favorites of this year. She has definitely grown over the past 15 years, I remember disliking her first album but then somehow her vocals got a lot better and her style became much more appealing. To me, anyway. When she released her latest album, I was sold again, and although I should’ve given her more plays, I know she’ll be rising next year.

10. Michael Jackson – 194 plays
Last year: n.a.
If I recall this correctly, all of these plays are from January. Yep, told you I haven’t listened to much music this year… I’ve had my reasons I guess, can’t remember what they are but I’m sure I had them. Whatever. I think very highly of dearly departed Michael, and the fact that he died way too early can make real fans a bit emotional. I can really enjoy his albums, but his masterpiece will always be the Thriller album, no one can change my mind about that one.

That’s it for 2012 guys, the feature posts will come back in December 2013!! Thanks for joining me!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

