Best of 2012: ~New Discoveries~

December 18, 2012 at 1:30 PM | Posted in !Features! | 2 Comments

Another year goes by! 2012 is drawing to an end, so it’s time for some ‘Best of’ feature posts on MusicAddiction! Just like last year, I’m gonna start by presenting you some new groups/artists I (re)discovered this year.

Lana del Rey
Love her for: Her unique voice and addictive hiphop influenced tracks
Best tracks: American, Born To Die, Blue Jeans, Radio, Ride, Diet Mountain Dew, National Anthem, Off To The Races

When I heard Lana’s song ‘Video Games’ I started to really HATE the girl because of her ‘boring voice’. Well, that was actually true for that track and I still dislike it, but the rest of her material is very addictive! The does have a good voice and she surprised me with her higher register in tracks like ‘Off To The Races’ and ‘Radio’ and her talent for rapping some of her lyrics in ‘Off To The Races’ and ‘National Anthem’. She uses oldschool beats in her music, which I absolutely love. I don’t particularly like everything she does, but her album ‘Born To Die’ is pure diamond. I’m not done with this girl, on to 2013!

Mandy Moore
Love her for: Her catchy folk music and breathtaking, well-trained vocals
Best tracks: I Can Break Your Heart Any Day Of The Week, Merrimack River, Everblue, I See The Light, When Will My Life Begin

I already knew Mandy as a singer and on occasion as an actress. I loved her voice work in the Disney film Rapunzel, but I hadn’t really gotten into her music until I heard her album ‘Amanda Leigh’ in June 2012. That album was very enjoyable and she displays some very good and even amazing vocals on that album. Most of the tracks on the album are very good and it made me very curious about her other material. Yet, since I’m not particularly into artists’ older material, I think I’ll wait with whatever comeback album she’ll come up with somewhere in the spring of 2013.

Maroon 5
Love them for: Their well-composed, catchy songs and spot-on lyrics
Best tracks: (All of them??) If I Never See Your Face Again, Makes Me Wonder, Wake Up Call, Not Falling Apart, Better That We Break, One More Night, Payphone (feat. Wiz Khalifa), Must Get Out, Misery

Ahhh, the Gods of pop/rock music! I have already known them since the ‘Songs About Jane’ era, but I didn’t become a big obsessed fan until early this year. I don’t even know how that got to be, all I know is that when I listened to their album ‘It Won’t Be Soon Before Long’ (which is their all-time masterpiece) for the first time, I put it on repeat for weeks. Adam Levine has an amazing voice, very unique for a man if you ask me, and I have to admit I also like him because he’s such a looker. About their music, I love their style very much, yet I still don’t know what to think of the new soul/rock incorporations in later albums. This is pretty much the only band of which I definitely prefer the older over the newer material.

MBLAQ
Love them for: The variation in their music and well-trained, mature vocals
Best tracks: Oh Yeah (feat. Hyun A), G.O.O.D Luv, One Better Day

What I know about this group after listening to their music for only a week or so, is that I can definitely love this group in the future. It’s like MBLAQ has the complete package: boys with great looks, catchy music and they can all dance, what else do you want? I started out with their first single/mini album ‘JUST BLAQ’, and I was very enthousiastic. I instantly downloaded the rest of their discography and although I still have to try out ‘Mona Lisa’ and ‘BLAQ%Ver.’ I’m pretty sure I’m not done with this group yet. I really need to emerge myself into their music but I don’t think that’s gonna be a problem!

The Script
Love them for: The amazing Danny O’Donoghue and nice twist to pop/rock music
Best tracks: Six Degrees Of Seperation, The Man Who Can’t Be Moved, Hall Of Fame, If You Could See Me Now, For The First Time

Another re-discovery like Maroon 5. I have know their music since 2008 or so, when their amazing single ‘The Man Who Can’t Be Moved’ came out. I loved it, and I remember listening to their first album but I pretty much forgot about them until a couple of months ago. I heard ‘Six Degrees Of Seperation’ on the radio and I have to admit it choked me up, that song is almost the story of my life so I was crazy about it instantly. I loved it and started to download their music again. Their album #3 is pretty good, I gotta give it a couple more listens, but it definitely has some good tracks like the single ‘Hall Of Fame’, whether it’s the version with or without that stupid will.i.am guy. Yep, I’m back in love with these boys again!

Son Dam Bi
Love her for: Her amazing influence on the K-pop music and catchy dance/pop music
Best tracks: Bad Boy, Ipda Jillin Ot, Nunmuri Jurureuk, Geulaess Nabwayo, Saranghago Sipeosseo

I remember seeing cover art which showed her collaborations with After School, but I didn’t really took the initiative to really listen to her solo material until later this year. It started with her new release ‘Nunmuri Jurureuk’, which really caught my attention and made me download her full discography. I found out that her first mini album was pretty amazing, and although the second one didn’t amaze me at much I was still interested in this girl. I still have to listen to her music more often to really determine where I stand with her, but ‘Nunmuri’ left me the good vibez.

SPICA
Love them for: Their amazing vocals, always surprising musical styles and overall presentation as kick-ass girl group
Best tracks: Painkiller, Russian Roulette, LONELY, With you, Geunal Bam

The group I LOVED ever since I heard their track ‘Painkiller’ and saw the PV for it. Especially Bo Ah and Bo Hyung are very talented singers, and in the case of Bo Ah her amazing timbre and unique vocal techniques keep surprising me. Although she has the weirdest face (sawry), she’s the most talented of all. Their first release ‘Painkiller’, a mini album, was pretty amazing, but when they released ‘Lonely’ last month they really got back in the game again. Pursuing a more vintage retro musical style they surprised me and gave me one of this year’s best releases. I hope they come up with some new material soon since I’m pretty sure I can’t get enough of them after a while, give me an album already!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You like Mandy Moore! I love Wild Hope and Amanda Leigh. I was so surprised when I heard Wild Hope back in high school. It was one of my favourite albums at the time.

    • Yes I like her very much! Amanda Leigh was an amazing and unique album, I downloaded Wild Hopes a few weeks ago but I still haven’t found the time to give it a listen. Now I most definitely will!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

