MBLAQ – Y

December 14, 2012 at 12:02 PM | Posted in MBLAQ | Leave a comment

SINGLE REVIEW
MBLAQ – Y

1. 4 Ya’ Stereo (feat. Taewan a.k.a. C-Luv)
2. Y
3. One Better Day
4. What U Want
5. Last Luv
6. Y (Inst.)
7. One Better Day (Inst.)

Y is the second single by South-Korean boy group MBLAQ, released on May 17, 2010.

4 Ya’ Stereo (feat. Taewan a.k.a. C-Luv) is just an introduction track but I have to admit it’s pretty fierce with a deep beat and lots of synths in the background. It’s indeed ‘4 ya stereo’ since that beat is probably going to make your speakers explode, so even for an intro track it’s pretty good.

Y ofcourse has to be another synth-filled track with a good beat, but although it can be categorized as energetic, I’ve heard more energetic leading tracks. I really can’t recognize most of the guys at this point because they almost look alike in the PV, but I think I can hear who G.O. and Seungho are in this track. Doesn’t even matter which one is which since they all sound very good, MBLAQ has no weak vocalists at all. Good track, but only the chorus is catchy enough for me to remember.

The next song features all the energy that Y missed. One Better Day is very uptempo and has an arrangement you don’t really hear every day so it’s pretty cool. The high tempo in the song surprised me, but at the same time it’s exactly what drew my attention. The piano makes it a little cuter near the end and it delivers a lighter tone to the overall blazing song.

What U Want is a very original song since it’s like pop mixed with a funky style of music. It still has a nice beat to it like the previous tracks, but the acoustic guitar delivers a light and happy undertone that makes the song easily recognizeable. It’s probably one of my favorite songs on this single (2nd mini album?) but since it’s also the shortest I had to listen to it a couple of times before I could actualy say something about it.

Last Luv (omg what do these guys have with this spelling of the word ‘love’…?) had to be the ballad track on the single since the rest of the songs are pretty much all uptempo. It’s a melancholic ballad, sad and emotional. The strings play a beautiful layered background with the acoustic guitar and the music builds up into this big arrangement. I feel goosebumps coming up when the electric guitar joins in. Great example of how good these guys’ vocals are as well.

Although Y isn’t as good as their debut single (in my opinion), it still keeps the variation in their music. It’s what I loved about their first single as well, all the tracks show a different side of these guys. Y didn’t start the single perfectly, I kind of forgot about it after One Better Day came up, but again there are no bad tracks on this single. I think this one needs more time to grow on me than their previous single, but I’m sure I’ll get to a point where I’ll love it.

OVERALL RATING
starstarstarstarblankstar
4 stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

