Narsha – NARSHA

October 12, 2012 at 10:51 AM | Posted in Narsha | Leave a comment

MINI-ALBUM
Narsha – NARSHA

1. Fantastic
2. Bbi Ri Bba Bba
3. I’m In Love (with Sungha Jung)
4. Queen B
5. Radio Star
6. Mamma Mia (Preview)
7. Bbi Ri Bba Bba (Inst.)

♦ ♦ ♦

NARSHA is the debut mini-album by South-Korean singer and Brown Eyed Girls member Narsha, released on July 8, 2010.

I didn’t expecting anything but an energetic uptempo song to open the mini-album, and Fantastic gave me that and more. It’s one of the tracks I remembered best of this album and I love it for its deep bass beats and light synth accents. Narsha’s vocals are surprisingly light as well, and I think her vocal techniques are amazing when she adlibs her ‘ooh-hooh‘s and ‘ah-hahs‘s. As for its place on the tracklist, its great as an opener since she still doesn’t go full out but it gives a little taste of what her music will be like.

Then we get to the amazing lead track Bbi Ri Bba Bba, which is dark K-pop at its best. There’s a veil of mystery over this track that I absolutely adore, it’s so unexpected when you compare it to the mainsteam K-pop sound. The chorus exists of only the title words but this is the track in which Narsha DOES go a bit more full out. The music is faster, there are more synths in the arrangement and when everything comes together it just makes one heck of  a lead track. Narsha does sound a bit like BoA during some parts tbh.

It’s nice to see Narsha take it down a bit with I’m In Love (with Sungha Jung), which is an acoustic ballad. Narsha is accompanied only by a guitar and piano, and these instruments create the perfect relaxing and beautiful ambience. Narsha herself proves she has a beautiful voice for singing ballads as well as singing uptempo tracks like the previous two tracks, so I’m glad she tends to vary.

Queen B takes the album back into the uptempo style, and although it’s pretty straightforward it makes for a great dance song that still stands out around Fatastic and Bbi Ri Bba Bba. There’s a lot of repetition in the track, mostly the chorus, but since that’s the best part of the entire track (as always) I still kinda like it. True, it’s not as good previous tracks but it has something.

Radio Star makes for a great summer song on the album. It’s uptempo, light and the guitar gives it a groovy touch to add even more to that summery feel. Everything about this song is right and Narsha couldn’t have sung it better, using the lighter side of her voice. I like the fact that she has a couple of dialogues in the track too, they just make me wish I spoke Korean… Other than that, it’s the perfect K-pop summer track!

Narsha definitely surprised me with her mini-album. I had heard of her before, I read a couple of reviews about this particular album but when I heard her music was kinda weird I decided to push my own review back. But then one of my friends showed me the PV for Bbi Ri Bba Bba and I fell in love with Narsha’s music completely. That gave me the little nudge I needed to listen to this album, and I’m glad I did since Narsha’s music isn’t strange at all! It’s just ‘normal’ K-pop music with a dance vibe, and Narsha has better vocals than I initially thought. In sum, this is definitely a recommendation!

Favorite tracks: Fantastic | Bbi Ri Bba Bba | I’m In Love (with Sungha Jung) | Radio Star

OVERALL RATING

4½ stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

