SHINee – sherlock

August 17, 2012 at 8:27 PM | Posted in SHINee | 7 Comments

SINGLE REVIEW
SHINee – sherlock

1. sherlock [Japanese ver.]
2. Keeping love again

sherlock is the fourth Japanese single by South-Korean boy group SHINee, released on May 16, 2012. It debuted at #2 on the Oricon Daily Charts and sold 48,990 copies in its first week. It has sold 68,291 copies to date.

OMGOMGOMG I have totally forgotten about this single right? Well, it’s a lame excuse since I’ve had pretty much time afterwards but when this single came out my exam period just started. I’m actually ashamed of myself but well, here we gooo.

In the style of every Japanese single they have released so far, sherlock [Japanese ver.] is, again, a Japanese version of a Korean song. Quite a creepy opening, but the instrumental synth part afterwards get things really going. sherlock [Japanese ver.] is an amazing track to release as a single since it’s so energetic and it just blasts right through your speakers. It’s still a little weird for me to hear the boys sing in Japanese, but they’re actually very good at it (especially Minho, his Japanese rapping is almost just as good as his Korean rapping).

Keeping love again is an original Japanese song, and as I expected a slower R&B song. Onew’s vocals could’ve been better, but the rest of the boys actually sounded like they were interested in singing this song (leader or not, Onew has never been my favorite of the guys anyway). It’s a pretty basic R&B song, maybe even a little too plain since it doesn’t do as much for me as ‘Kiss Kiss Kiss’ did on their JULIETTE single, but still decent.

I realized this is actually SHINee’s first Japanese single I’m reviewing here so I gotta do something about that asap. It’s actually strange how this is the first one that leaves me kinda unsatisfied (but only when compared to the rest of their discography), since the title track is actually AMAZING while the second song is not that memorable and borderline boring. Oh well, at least the individual song was decent when you forget about the track that came before it. I’m gonna give it the benefit of the doubt since I love them so much.

OVERALL RATING

3½ stars

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Do you think SHINee is doing well in Japan? :/

    Perhaps if you have time, would you check out my blog, NyNyOnline (http://nynyonline.wordpress.com)?

    • Actually I think SHINee is doing better in Korea than in Japan, their Japanese career is quite moderate to be honest although they have released a couple of good songs.

      You sure the URL isn’t http://nynyonlinex.wordpress.com? The URL you gave me said the blog got deleted so I googled it and came up with this link instead. Is this your blog? Thank you anyway, I always like checking out other people’s blogs =)

      Take care!

  2. Good point, I feel the same. I feel that SHINee should continue more in Korea.

    Ah, that’s right! My bad >__<

    • Doesn’t matter, your blog looks really nice anyway ^o^ I’ll add a link to your blog tomorrow when my pc’s on again (this message is sent from my cellphone), keep up your good work!

      • Okay! And thank you 🙂

  3. I actually like “Keeping Love Again” 🙂 This single would have been perfect if I didn’t love the Korean version of Sherlock so much.

  4. Jade likes it better now, if you go check out her “Boy Meets U” review. You still don’t need to compare though. The 2 songs are apple and oranges,you know? And Onew and Jonghyun are the best of the group.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

