Flo Rida – Wild Ones

July 18, 2012 at 12:07 PM | Posted in Flo Rida | Leave a comment

ALBUM REVIEW
Flo Rida – Wild Ones

1. Whistle
2. Wild Ones (feat. Sia)
3. Let It Roll
4. Good Feeling
5. In My Mind, Part 2 (feat. Georgi Kay)
6. Sweet Spot (feat. Jennifer Lopez)
7. Thinking Of You
8. I Cry
9. Run (feat. Redfoo)

♦ ♦ ♦

Wild Ones is the fourth studio album by American hip-house artist Flo Rida, released on July 3, 2012. The album debuted at #14 on the US Billboard 200 chart selling 31,000 copies in its first week.

‘Can you blow my whistle baby, whistle baby, let me know / Girl I’m gonna show you how to do it and we start real slow / You just put your lips together and you come real close / Can you blow my whistle baby, whistle baby / Here we GO’

Whistle is an amazingly catchy song about something I bet you can guess by yourself, and no it ain’t the regular whistles. Ever since the first time I heard this track it was my guilty pleasure, one of my favorite summer tracks and you can’t blame Flo Rida. The track has a nice beat and acoustic guitar sound, and in contrast to the other tracks on the album it’s more R&B styled. I love the whistle melody in the chorus, but too bad I can’t whistle along.. x] *Epic fail*

I really don’t like Sia, sorry, she’s just weird. But Wild Ones (feat. Sia) is actually a pretty good track and the first to show off the hip-house style. The beats and synths provide a strong arrangement for Flo Rida and Sia, with the first doing more of the rap parts and the latter doing all the singing parts. One of the numerous club bangers on this album, but also one of the better among them.

Let It Roll opens with a nice piano melody before a fast handclap beat and synths come in. The chorus of the  song samples ‘Let The Good Times Roll’ by Freddie King, and I L.O.V.E. samples tbh. Flo Rida himself does some serious fast rapping in this track, but he sounds really fierce and just like in Whistle he does some singing parts as well. Not the best singer there is, but for his genre he sounds pretty good.

Good Feeling sounds so amazing for sampling Etta James’ ‘Something’s Got A Hold On Me’. The track is composed of a guitar and electro beat to make it another club ready song on the album, and that only becomes more obvious when there’s a prett cool dubstep break near the end. It’s better than Wild Ones, but already the fourth song in a row I like. And I was already wondering why I was reviewing this artist. THIS is why.

The next song in the hip-house club anthem style is In My Mind, Part 2 (feat. Georgi Kay), but it’s the first one I’m a little on the fence with. The track as a whole sounds really cool, Flo Rida himself makes it more attractive with his raps, but then there’s this Georgi Kay girl. I don’t know who she is but she sounds extremely bland and doesn’t add a highlight to the song. Too bad.

I was surprised to see Jennifer Lopez on this album, but besides the chorus she doesn’t have a big part in Sweet Spot (feat. Jennifer Lopez). Besides her cheesy lyrics (‘I want candy tonight‘ …) her high pitched vocals shine a new light on her voice and she sounds good singing in that pitch. She actually carries the entire song, Flo Rida isn’t always able to come out strong with that agressive beats and synths arrangement.

Thinking Of You is a standout track for two reasons. First, it concentrates more on Flo Rida’s SINGING o.O  It totally surprised me that the guy can actually sing R&B songs pretty well, he’s not really Chris Brown but he comes pretty close if you ask me. Second, it’s the slowest and most sincere song on the album, with an amazing hiphop beat in the background. Ofcourse he has a few rap parts too to spice up the track a bit, but overall this is a very musical track.

I LOVE this next song for sampling ‘Cry (Just A Little)’ by Bingo Players, which I already thought was a nice club song. I Cry should become a single in the future, it has everything a good hit should have: a great dance beat with agressive synth riffs, the catchy sample in the chorus and Flo Rida’s uplifting raps. I’m a fangirl for this one.

At first I thought Run (feat. Redfoo) wasn’t going to be all that special, until I recognized some elements of Brian Adams’ ‘Run To You’. It becomes even better when Redfoo from LMFAO hints their track ‘Party Rock Anthem’ to a dubstep beat break. It makes it all the more fun and I actually LMFAO’d when he said ‘wiggle wiggle‘ xD

I have no idea what just happened, but I guess I reviewed a Flo Rida album… AND LIKED IT. I’m not a big fan of hiphop, I mean I like it but I’m not the hardcore fan type, but Flo Rida’s musical style makes it all the more appealing to me and his album features many club anthems. Catchy hooks, amazing sample work, good vocals, this is a party album and I’m actually glad I took the time to listen to it, even if it was only for Whistle at first, that track is GOLDEN.

Favorite tracks: Whistle | Wild Ones (feat. Sia) | Good Feeling | Thinking Of You | I Cry | Run (feat. Redfoo)

OVERALL RATING

4½ stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

