Koda Kumi – COME WITH ME

July 4, 2012 at 5:03 PM | Posted in Koda Kumi | Leave a comment

SINGLE REVIEW
Koda Kumi – COME WITH ME

1. COME WITH ME
2. real Emotion (English Ver.)
3. 1000の言葉 (English Ver.)
4. real Emotion (DJ MSK Remix)
5. 1000の言葉 (DJ 19 Remix)
6. COME WITH ME (Instrumental)

COME WITH ME is the eighth single by Japanese singer Koda Kumi, released on August 27, 2003. The single reached #14 on the Oricon charts and charted for 9 weeks. This single sold 20,535 units in it’s first week and the most recent figures show that it has sold a total of 41,370 units.

COME WITH ME sounds like a real summer track to me, and quite unique in her discography (okay, besides Chase then) for the use of a lot of funky and brassy instruments. Kumi’s vocals appear to be amazing this time, she doesn’t even mess up her frequent use of ‘Engrish’. It’s a happy track, it took me some time but now I definitelty love the summer vibe.

The next two tracks will be treated in one segment since I can keep things very short. real Emotion (English Ver.) and 1000の言葉 (English Ver.) are both amazing tracks, but it’s her bad English that messes things up, I can’t understand a word she’s singing for about 70% of the songs. 1000の言葉 (English Ver.) is even worse. It takes away the effect the original song had. I would pass these versions, too bad..

real Emotion (DJ MSK Remix) is like real Emotion gone Rio. The original Japanese version has been transformed into a track that is very suitable for the Brazilian Carnival if you ask me, with a real samba vibe. Tribal percussion, piano chords, it completely fits the song. A very good summer remix if you ask me, perfect for this summer single too.

I never though 1000の言葉 would get a remix, but I guess it did haha. And a very long one too (almost 9 minutes long). But luckily it’s the Japanese version as well, the best version of the two. 1000の言葉 (DJ 19 Remix) is a bit like the previous remix but then toned down a little, so that it’s still quite tropical but not too much carnival material. I like the percussion vibe most of all, but an uptempo 1000の言葉… I still don’t know for sure so I’ll give this track the benefit of the doubt.

COME WITH ME was a rather nice single, bringing back two previous tracks that were actually good and providing a completely new summer track which I have come to love over the past few years. I still dislike the Engrish version of real Emotion and 1000の言葉, but I guess you can’t have it all. The remixes were nice though.

OVERALL RATING

3½ stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

