Maroon 5 – Overexposed

July 1, 2012 at 8:24 PM | Posted in Maroon 5 | Leave a comment

ALBUM REVIEW
Maroon 5 – Overexposed

1. One More Night
2. Payphone (feat. Wiz Khalifa)
3. Daylight
4. Lucky Strike
5. The Man Who Never Lied
6. Love Somebody
7. Ladykiller
8. Fortune Teller
9. Sad
10. Tickets
11. Doin’ Dirt
12. Beautiful Goodbye

♦ ♦ ♦

Overexposed is the fourth studio album by American band Maroon 5, released on June 26, 2012. The album was driven after the moderate succes of their third studio abum Hands All Over (2010) and later the succesful single Moves Like Jagger.The album peaked at #2 on the Billboard 200 and sold approximately 210,000 copies to date.

One More Night has a very interesting and nice vibe to it, mixing pop/rock with a reggae sound. What I really like about this song is Adam’s vocal technique, using his chest voice to adlib in a  rather funky way throughout the entire song. There’s only a little something missing in this song but I can’t think of anything right now, I’m simply surprised by the rather addictive and different sound of this song. Laughed my ass off when Adam finished with ‘I don’t know, whatever..‘ xD

Immediately follows my eargasm of the past two months: Payphone (feat. Wiz Khalifa). Here Maroon mixed pop/rock with some hiphop influences, clearly coming out when Wiz Khalifa drops some lines (which is absolutely amazing), it gives the song so much swagger. I have the clean version here, which sucks because I loved that line ‘All these fairytales are full of shit, one more fcking love song I’ll be sick‘. They changed it.. FFFFUUU.

Daylight gives me Coldplay vibes, really. But then it features the same intro as the Backstreet Boys’ song ‘Just Want You To Know’ (don’t know why I know that). It’s a pretty soft rock song but the percussion tempo and sound give it some more spice. Adam’s vocals are top notch again and I love it when he sings “In the daylight/ We’ll be on our own/ But tonight I need to hold you so close“.

Then they’re BACK with Lucky Strike! It’s that good old fast, guitar driven song I was waiting for and I was so used from them. It’s more of the funky sound that was also heard on their Hands All Over album, but some of the guitar parts were better than to get the ‘funk’ tag. Almost Moves Like Jagger, part II, love it!

Somtimes honesty is the worst policy‘, so true. The Man Who Never Lied features quite some emotional lyrics about lying to someone to not break their heart. I  can’t really say there’s something very special about this song, but still, while being a song with an average arrangement it’s one of the better songs on the album. It has a nice beat, especially in the chorus.

Love Somebody is produced by Ryan Tedder, so let’s have a look now. This sound is not something I’m used to hear from Maroon 5, since it features a lot of synth hooks. It sounds really good, I just need to get used to it I guess. Sometimes the sound can become a little bit too dominant since it’s such a sudden transition from pop/rock to synthpop. As an individual song, this could very well become a favorite.

Ladykiller is the shortest song on the album at only 2:44 minutes. Is this a song about Adam’s girl leaving him for another girl…? Anyway, this song should feature the tag ‘feat. Hall & Oates’, I can hear them in some parts. It’s not much of an energetic song, but I still like the relaxing vibe. The guitar solo in the bridge is a real plus.

I like how Adam sings in a lower register in the first part of Fortune Teller, but that’s pretty much where my fangirling stops. This song’s only highlight is the bridge, where it features a hiphop influenced beat. The rest of it doesn’t really make sense to me.

As I expected, Sad is a piano ballad. Artist Direct’s Rick Florino has a point when he says this song ‘screams Elton John’, but it’s that and so much more. To me it’s like the confession wanted but never heard, and the only Maroon 5 song that ever actually made me cry a bit while listening to it (I’m such an emotional jerk). Can I fangirl about this song please? ❤

Tickets features the most agressive synth arrangement on the entire album, forget about Love Somebody, some parts in this song are almost techno-influenced. Want my honest opinion? I think it’s HOT. If you ask me, they can make more songs like this one although it’s the most mainstream song of all.

Talking about energy, Doin’ Dirt is amazing! Okay, it features some really dirty lyrics like ‘I know you like it when it hurts‘ and ‘I light you up when I get inside‘, but I’m kinda used to that from Adam (just listen to Kiwi and the first lyrics of Makes Me Wonder). This song is pretty addictive, especially when it comes to the bridge and also to the uplifting synth riffs in the background.

Beautiful Goodbye is the bittersweet last track on the album, but it has a golden combination of an acoustic guitar with a very smooth beat. It’s an average ballad track but quite pretty, a real lyric song because all the attention is drawn to those lyrics.

So maybe Overexposed isn’t Maroon 5’s best album to date, It Won’t Be Soon Before Long (2007) remains my all time favorite, but this one isn’t bad either. Ofcourse it features one of their best songs ever (Payphone feat. Wiz Khalifa) and they introduced new favorites to me, but still there’s something about this album I’m a bit on the fence with. The completely different styles, being pop/rock and synthpop, are not very balanced if you ask me, some songs were a little bland. I would listen to this album quite a lot, probably until I know all the songs inside and out, but still I even like Hands All Over a little more. Tough luck guys (but still: good job).

Favorite songs: One More Night | Payphone (feat. Wiz Khalifa) | Lucky Strike | The Man Who Never Lied | Love Somebody | Sad | Doin’ Dirt

OVERALL RATING

3½ stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

