Koda Kumi – Trust Your Love

April 5, 2012 at 12:23 PM | Posted in Koda Kumi | Leave a comment

SINGLE REVIEW
Koda Kumi – Trust Your Love

1. Trust Your Love
2. STILL IN LOVE
3. Trust Your Love (Sean “Sepp” Hall Remix)
4. Trust Your Love (Razor’s Radio Mix)
5. Trust Your Love (Thunderpuss Radio Mix)
6. Trust Your Love (Instrumental)
7. STILL IN LOVE (Instrumental)

Trust Your Love is the second single by Japanese singer Koda Kumi, released on May 3, 2001. The title track was the chosen theme song for AX MUSIC FACTORY’s “AX POWER PLAY”. The single peaked on the Japanese Oricon charts at #18 selling 14,300 units in it’s first week and the most recent figures show that it has sold a total of 42,100 units. The single reached #1 on the U.S. Billboard Hot Dance Music charts.

Damn, the struggles I’ve been through to get my hands on the Japanese single version instead of the US Maxi Version… Anyway I’m so glad I have it now because Trust Your Love is an amazing song. I was sold as soon as I saw the PV and heard that twinkle that opens the song. It’s quite a different song from ‘TAKE BACK’, it’s still R&B but it features more of a 90s dance sound. I still like Kumi’s deep voice and she really breaks in down in the second part of the chorus. Great job!

Finally I get to hear STILL IN LOVE, and I’m surprised by the funkiness of the song. It has a great R&B feel and the electric guitars really give it more of a bounce if you know what I mean. It’s the same style as the A-side, but still I feel this song is very different from it for its more poppy R&B beats instead of the synths in Trust Your Love. It actually sounds like late 90s music but it’s a hell of a good beat.

Oh yes DJ, I feel you. Trust Your Love (Sean “Sepp” Hall Remix) opens with a super smooth R&B/Hiphop beat, and Sean saying ‘Kumi Koda, if you sit down you better get up, you feel me‘. Sean mixed in some great strings arrangements too, and it completely transforms the original uptempo song into something pretty smooth. Maybe Sean himself becomes kinda superfluous after dropping in with his ‘uh‘s and ‘yeah’s after a while but overall it’s a really good remix.

Trust Your Love (Razer’s Radio Mix) is a bit of a mess if you ask me. There’s a lot of irritation repetition in there and the beat is really dominant. I don’t really have much to say about this except for that it pretty much irritated me to the bone.

Trust Your Love (Thunderpuss Radio Mix) is much less chaotic than the previous remix and I like it much more. Still it’s a pretty synth heavy remix and it’s really fast but I think it’s pretty hot.

Trust Your Lovewasn’t better than TAKE BACK but it has its charm. I loved the A-side, the B-side really surprised me, but the first remix was the best out of the bunch. The others were simply irritating me or okay. Nothing that special. Still it’s a pretty good second single, she really showed that she has a great voice and quality.

OVERALL RATING

4 stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

