SHINee – THE FIRST

December 16, 2011 at 6:49 PM | Posted in SHINee | 4 Comments

ALBUM REVIEW
SHINee – THE FIRST

1. LUCIFER
2. Amigo
3. JULIETTE
4. BETTER
5. To Your Heart
6. Always Love
7. Replay -君は僕のeverything-
8. START
9. Love Like Oxygen
10. Hello
11. The SHINee World
12. Seesaw
13. Stranger

♦ ♦ ♦

THE FIRST is SHINee’s first Japanese album. It was released in three versions. The CD-Only Regular Edition contained a bonus track, “Stranger”, used as theme song for the drama Strangers6. THE FIRST reached #4 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 71,666 copies in its first week.

Wow I reaaaally have to get used to SHINee singing Japanese, especially with LUCIFER because I used to put the Korean version of this song on replay all the time. But Japanese or Korean, I can’t stop loving this electropop song with lots of fierce synth effects and vocoder effects. All the boys sound good in Japanese too!

Amigo might even be fiercer than LUCIFER, although I think it’s less catchy. The chorus only consists of the title words, but the boys all gave it their best shot and the heavy synths especially spiced up the song.

JULIETTE is officially one of their older Korean songs and I’ve always liked it for its cheerfulness. ‘Juliette, haawh‘. They’re no special lyrics but they give the song something very catchy and memorable. I once said this is one of the best songs in their career and I’m gonna stick to that. Jonghyun’s vocals totally gave me goosebumps.

The first ballad on the album is BETTER, and it’s in the same style as the uptempo songs: R&B with a lot of synths in the arrangement. The adlibs in the chorus are a nice touch and Minho’s vocals in his rap were very deep. The boys especially sound good together in this song.

To Your Heart is a nice uptempo song, almost a bit like dubstep. I think it’s very good to give Minho some singing lines here, instead of just rapping. The song is all over the place because the arrangement is very dominant and some of the boys have a lot of adlibs, but it all works to make a real club banger.

I instantly fell in love with the beat for Always Love, just can’t help myself. The melody in the chorus is beautiful, and they couldn’t have given it more magic with their voices. Even Taemin has a lot of solos in this song and he really nailed it.

After the previous song, it really seems like they sped up Replay -君は僕のeverything- but it could be just me. I always thought this song was SHINee’s magnum opus, and it’s great they re-recorded it for this album. They gave Taemin a bit more lines than in the original version, too bad for Onew.

SHINee is, in my opinion, very strong in making electropop/R&B songs, and START is no exception. It’s also one of the new songs created especially for this album, and although the lyrics are pretty cheesy (‘I want to start‘) it’s another nice poppin’ song with a great beat.

Love Like Oxygen is a song from their first Korean album and it sounds familiar although I haven’t given it many plays. It’s slower paced, a bit more laid-back and also a bit funky with some nice guitar riffs. It’s a bit different from the rest of their songs because it’s a cover of a Danish song, but it’s pretty still.

Hello <33  It’s not as good as the original version (especially Taemin ruins some of his own parts here), but I just can’t help but loving this song to death. Considering both music and vocals, this is probably the catchiest song on the album and definitely one of the better. ‘Hello, hello!’

It’s almost like entering gangster world when The SHINee World comes up, because I thought it was going to be a happy slappy song. From the start (with Minho opening the song speaking in a very deep voice again) it’s a more dominant song with a lot of bass, handclaps and synths. Another old song, but it’s really brought to my attention now.

I like the prominent use of the high hat in the beat for Seesaw, I don’t know why I instantly noticed that. But for the rest of the song, it was actually nothing special. It passed in less than three minutes.

Stranger is a bit like LUCIFER part II at some points, but then a bit less mysterious with SHINee chanting ‘lalalala‘ in the chorus. The last song on the album is one of the best club bangers on this album with another agressive arrangement just like some of the other uptempo songs on the album. Good bonus track and closer of the album, better than Seesaw.

Seven out of thirteen songs on this album are new songs, which is only half of the album, but who cares. This album is pretty hot! I’ve been a fan for only 18 months or so, but I’m so in love with the music these boys make (and in the case of some of them their looks don’t hurt too…). Most of the songs on this album are just as catchy as the songs in their Korean discography so this album is a great complement to their career.

Favorite songs: LUCIFER | JULIETTE | To Your Heart | Always Love | Replay -君は僕のeverything- | Hello | The SHINee World | Stranger

OVERALL RATING

4½ stars

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This album is nothing but a repeat of Korean songs turned Japanese. I think I would love the album if I didn’t love Korean versions so much. I love Japanese and the language is better than Korean! But I listened to Korean versions so many times where it gets to the point that the songs in Japanese sounds strange to me xD

  2. I don’t like “LUCIFER” I didn’t like the MV and the song is the BIGGEST, MOST OVERRATED SHINee song in their whole career.

    • Actually, the Japanese version of the MV was really good.

  3. I’ve never seen or cared to see it. I just don’t like the song.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

