Namie Amuro – Sit! Stay! Wait! Down! / Love Story

December 5, 2011 at 8:23 PM | Posted in Namie Amuro | Leave a comment

SINGLE REVIEW
Namie Amuro – Sit! Stay! Wait! Down! / Love Story

1. Sit! Stay! Wait! Down!
2. Love Story
3. Higher
4. arigatou <thank the world for LOVE…gift song for 2011>
5. Sit! Stay! Wait! Down! (Instrumental)
6. Love Story (Instrumental)
7. Higher (Instrumental)

Sit! Stay! Wait! Down! / Love Story is the 36th single by Japanese singer Namie Amuro. It was released on December 7, 2011, in two versions: a CD+DVD edition and a CD-only edition. “Sit! Stay! Wait! Down!” and “Love Story” are used as the opening and ending theme songs for the drama Watashi ga Renai Dekinai Riyuu.

The title Sit! Stay! Wait! Down! sounds like something to say to a dog, there’s a dog featured on a cover, and I could SWEAR I could hear Namie say the word ‘dog’ several times during the song… Anyway, I have been waiting for this song for like forever and I m so glad to hear that the song is a nice uptempo track but not over the top. It’s actually quite a bouncy song with a lot of synths and I really like Namie’s lower pitched vocals.

Ofcourse Love Story is a ballad and I immediately fell in love with the strings/piano intro. Things became even better when Namie herself dropped in, I have come to appreciate her vocals so much lately, especially in ballads. I still haven’t forgot Tempest, and this song comes close to beating it. It’s powerful yet simple and pretty, this is really the most perfect ballad track of 2011.

Higher is one big bombastic blast of percussion and synths, almost like ‘BOOM, here she is after a lovely ballad to strike back with this hot mess’. Personally I would’ve liked the track better if it was just a tad slower, but I can forgive the song because it’s just what this single needed. Kinda reminds me of ‘Dr.’ actually…

arigatou <thank the world for LOVE…gift song for 2011> is the midtempo R&B track for this single (which completes the circle), and its arrangement consists of a handclap percussion beat, strings and acoustic guitars, the latter being something I always like in these kinds of songs. The last part of the song is the very best because from that point on things really get big. Speaking of big, big ❤ for the choir in this song^^

Having waited for this single for, like… months (??), I am soooo satisfied with the result. I already loved Namie’s previous single to death, have been playing it over and over ever since, and now this one is going to join the party. I really hope the first two tracks will both be on her next 2012 album, although the B-sides were great too. I don’t know what else to say, I LOVED this.

OVERALL RATING

5 stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

