Koda Kumi – Ai wo Tomenaide (愛を止めないで) EDIT

September 28, 2011 at 3:29 PM | Posted in Koda Kumi | Leave a comment

SINGLE REVIEW (EDIT)
Koda Kumi – Ai wo Tomenaide (愛を止めないで)

1. Ai wo Tomenaide (愛を止めないで)
2. Anata Dake ga (Strings Version) (あなただけが)
3. Anata Dake ga (Music Box Version) (あなただけが)

Like the title says, this is kind of an addition to the official single review I posted two days ago. Finally I got hold of the alternate versions of Anata Dake ga…! So I’m going to skip the song Ai wo Tomenaide this time (read my previous Kuu review for that), and I’m going straight on to these tracks. Man, I’m excited!

The official track has always been one of my favorite Kumi songs because of the emotion she lays in her voice and the perfect musical arrangement. How f*cking perfect can a song be? That was my first thought on it when I first heard it last year. Anata Dake ga (Strings Version) (あなただけが) is just as perfect as the original, it’s simple, yet still grand and close to perfection. As the title implies, there are only strings here, no percussion, no piano, nothing else. All the attention is drawn to the emotion and that’s exactly what this song needs. B-e-a-utiful (thanks for that line, Bruce Almighty xD).

The bells in Anata Dake ga (Music Box Version) (あなただけが) may sounds a bit shrill at times, but a huge plus is the fact that this song has vocals (against my expectations). But this time, Kuu’s vocals are in too big contrast with the softness of the music box effect. Right where she hits her highest and most emotional notes, those are the parts I’m a bit on the fence with. But in other parts her voice and the music box mix perfectly, so it’s just those little moments of imperfection (if you wanna call it that way). Other than that, I think this version could also grow on me.

These new editions of Anata Dake ga were a nice addition to the Ai wo Tomenaide (愛を止めないで) single, very in the style of the A-side song itsself; ballad. Personally I like the strings version of Anata Dake ga better, but the music box version wasn’t bad either, please don’t forget that because it’s also really worth a couple of listens. Overall,  I can finally say that I truly love this entire single as a whole, and that it was a strong release. Below is the rating for the entire single now (not that it has changed much) and not for the Anata Dake ga songs seperately.

OVERALL RATING

4½ stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

