Koda Kumi – Ai wo Tomenaide (愛を止めないで)

September 26, 2011 at 5:27 PM | Posted in Koda Kumi | Leave a comment

SINGLE REVIEW
Koda Kumi – Ai wo Tomenaide (愛を止めないで)

1. Ai wo Tomenaide (愛を止めないで)
2. You are not alone

Ai wo Tomenaide is the 51st single released by Koda Kumi on September 21, 2011. This was released in three different versions: a CD only edition, a CD only movie edition, and a CD+DVD edition that comes with a DVD of the music videos of the title song and the B-side “You are not alone”. The last edition comes with newly arranged versions of her previously released song “Anata Dake ga”.

Ai wo Tomenaide (愛を止めないで) is a nice heartfelt ballad, but it has a nice little beat in there to make it just that little more uptempo than your regular ballad. I like the guitar intro and the piano accompanying the song. Kumi herself displayed some nice emotional vocals here as well, especially in the chorus. This song tends to remind me of one of her older songs, but I can’t seem to come up with one. Other than that, it certainly has something unique as well and it fits right into her discography.

At first You are not alone gave me ‘Lick me♥’ vibes, but then I quickly found out this song is more R&B and slower paced. I like the way Kuu sings this song, she has a nice solid voice with a lot of depth to it. This is the one song on this single that will stay in your head for the rest of the day, it’s incredibly addictive so don’t say I didn’t warn you. The synths give this song a very poppy and lighthearted feel, so it’s less bombastic than the A-side. I really like this track.

Kumi balanced this single very well with a heartfelt ballad and a lighthearted pop track, and both songs are very nice. I have given them multiple listens by now and they grow on me more and more each time. I just read somewhere that she will be releasing a single called ‘Love Me Back’ on November 30, 2011, and I am already very curious about it because ‘4 Times’, single #50 and the one before this one, was also very very good. I’m starting to like this era pretty much, I hope she will be releasing a new album somewhere in Spring!

OVERALL RATING

stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

