SHINee – ROMEO EP

April 26, 2011 at 9:24 PM | Posted in SHINee | 2 Comments

MINI ALBUM REVIEW
SHINee – ROMEO EP

1. 니가 맘에 들어 (Talk To You)
2. Juliette (줄리엣)
3. 차라리 때려 (Hit Me)
4. Señorita (세노리따)
5. 잠꼬대 (Please, Don’t Go)
6. 소년, 소녀를 만나다 (Romeo+Juliette)

♦ ♦ ♦

ROMEO EP is the second mini album by Korean boy group SHINee, and it was released on May 25, 2009. The mini-album was described as being “highly refined” and more “mature” than their previous releases.  It was released in Japan in a CD+DVD only edition, and was SHINee’s first Japanese release. It debuted at the #39 Oricon weekly chart position and charted for 1 week.

I like how they spell out S-H-I-N-ee before Minho does the opening rap.  니가 맘에 들어 (Talk To You) is a cute synth pop song with some good beats in there, definitely a new way for them after their first album. In my opinion, Juliette would’ve made a better opening track because it’s more uptempo, but I guess this will work. The boys that are most featured are Onew, Jonghyun and Key, mostly the first two. Taemin is nowhere to be found until the bridge and Minho comes back one more time with a strong rap at the very end of the song. Good song, listened to it twice.

Minho’s opening line in Juliette (줄리엣), “Yeah, song for my Juliette! Uh!” was kinda… awkward xD But then it’s good to hear all of the boys have equal share in the lyrics. Jonghyun is the strongest singer in this song, as always, his voice is very suitable for these kind of uptempo R&B/synthpop songs. I always get goosebumps from Minho’s raps and he made up big time after that awful opening line. The chorus for this song is a hell of a catchy one and I will probably be singing along for hours and hours to come. This is actually the best song of the entire EP and even one of the best in their career.

차라리 때려 (Hit Me) is a slower song, and it’s an R&B ballad kind of track. From the start it was already very appealing with almost sort of rap lyrics by everyone, and this time Key came out best (I love his voice, so unique). Even though this is a very peaceful song, it doesn’t bore me at all and I can listen to this multiple times. Okay, ofcourse given the fact that I completely drool over these boys like some of their Korean and Taiwanese fans, the strange thing is me being a European xD I like Taemin ending this song in a higher pitched voice.

Señorita (세노리따) is kind of a nodd to AMIGO, a song on their debut album. This is not one of their strongest songs, but at least the chorus sounds alright. Nice how some brass instruments come in to accompany them, haven’t heard that much in their songs. Minho has another rap here, one of his more standard raps, not as special as the ones he had yet to perform at thew point they recorded this album. This song just passes me by, it’s not very special.

We have another ballad, 잠꼬대 (Please, Don’t Go) and I already expected that because the title means ‘sleepwalking’. I love this song very much, it’s Jonghyun and Onew written all over but they always appear to be the strongest ballad singers of the group. The chorus is performed perfectly with those layered vocals and it comes off as very heartfelt indeed. If this song only would’ve been longer, I enjoyed this one so much and for once I was actually glad there was no rap to ruin the emotion in the song!

소년, 소녀를 만나다 (Romeo+Juliette) has always been kind of a weird song to me because the autotuned vocals by Taemin in the beginning of the song. I think this song could’ve been much more than it turned out to be. It’s just your ordinary synthpop song with some strong and solid vocals by almost every member of the group, but the chorus is to bland to really stand out a bit. I guess filler tracks even appear on EP’s, they should’ve left this one of. Okay, I like it, but not that much.

I love SHINee, but I can see they came a long way. I’m not all that fond of their early works, even though they still did fine then. Their new material just seems to appeal more, it proves to have more guts than they had back in the day. Later this year, 2009, they would release 2009, Year Of Us, and that’s where they really captured me. There were some pretty damn good songs on this EP, but it could’ve been much more if they just had the guts to try things they eventually did later on. They did prove and confirm some things to me: first, Jonghyun and Onew are really the best ballad singers in the group, second being that Minho deserves more time in the spotlight for his fierce voice. Third: Taemin, great you took singing lessons, but you don’t have to emphasize that you’re only 15 years old… You’re much more than that. In the end, this is not SHINee’s best EP, I just stick to 2009, Year Of Us and Lucifer/Hello.

Favorite songs: Juliette (줄리엣) | 차라리 때려 (Hit Me) | 잠꼬대 (Please, Don’t Go)

OVERALL RATING

3 stars

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What did I get on this mini besides “Senorita” “Juliette” and “Please, Don’t Go”? What a disappointment 😦

  2. Albums got nothing. A CD you can live without.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

