Britney Spears – Femme Fatal

March 21, 2011 at 9:39 PM | Posted in Britney Spears | Leave a comment

ALBUM REVIEW
Britney Spears – Femme Fatale

1. Till The World Ends
2. Hold It Against Me
3. Inside Out
4. I Wanna Go
5. How I Roll
6. (Drop Dead) Beautiful (feat. Sabi)
7. Seal It With A Kiss
8. Big Fat Bass (feat. will.i.am)
9. Trouble For Me
10. Trip To Your Heart
11. Gasoline
12. Criminal

♦ ♦ ♦

Femme Fatale is the seventh studio album by American recording artist Britney Spears, and it will be released on March 25, 2011. The album was recorded between 2009 and 2011, with frequent collaborators Max Martin and Dr. Luke serving as the project’s executive producers. “Hold It Against Me” was released as the lead single from the album, peaking atop of the charts in seven countries, including the United States and Canada.

The album starts with the second single, Till The World Ends, an in my opinion extremely catchy and addictive pop/dance track. The hook is kinda similar to Enrique Iglesias’ ‘Tonight’, but the chorus is all about chanting. I think this is the best uptempo track Britney has ever made and it’s a good earcatcher, being the first track on this album. Fun fact: it was written by Kesha Sebert, aka Ke$ha.

Hold It Against Me was as I said before during the single review a huge step forward for Brit because she improved so much vocally. Ofcourse being a 30-year-old, you have to have a voice to match and she actually does now. The thing that matters more is the pumping quality of the song. I love the synth arrangements in this song combining with her voice and the dance break in the song is absolutely gourgeous.

The next song, Inside Out, is a very slow song, yet not a ballad. It has some R&B influences as well through the beat while it still has some of the synthy dance ambience. It’s a song that doesn’t really capture my attention, except for Brit’s vocals. She delivered quite a good vocal performance in this song although the music wasn’t all of an earcatcher.

Back to uptempo now. I Wanna Go was one of the first songs I saw on the tracklist when it was released with ‘written tracks for the album’, and it was credited as ‘I-I-I Wanna Go-o-o’. I prefer the new title. After all these years I still love Britney’s altered vocals when they’re mixed with a vocoder and the chorus in this song is a bit repetitive but still brilliant, the whistle sounds are great.

How I Roll starts off with some weird moanings, but it gets better after that. It’s another R&B influenced track and it’s not as agressive as Till The World Ends was. A male voice is featured in the chorus, and that part as a whole kinda appeals to me in some way. It’s a simple song, but much fun to listen to. It’s bubbly (literally, just listen to it!) and takes a relaxed spot on the album.

I don’t know who Sabi is, but apparently it’s a female and that’s all I know. (Drop Dead) Beautiful (feat. Sabi) is quite an enjoyable song and it was a delight to hear Sabi speak and laugh in this song before she starts on her rap. A lot of altered vocals, synths and beats complement this track and it’s a lot of fun.

Seal It With A Kiss is not a standout song, but I like it for Britney’s echoe-like vocals in the verses and hooks. I like the fun that can be heard throughout the lyrics, especially when Britney compares kissing to a forbidden fruit. The song has a little dubstep dance break that reminds me of Hold It Against Me, but it’s still not the same.

Big Fat Bass (feat. will.i.am) is so forgettable and dull! There is no variation in the musical arrangement, Britney’s vocals and the lyrics and I already felt it from the start. This song reminds me of Cheryl Cole’s ‘3 Words’, also a dull song AND a will.i.am collaboration. Right now, will.i.am hit rock bottom if you ask me. This is my song of avoidance.

Trouble For Me finally features some non-altered vocals by Britney and she sounds great, so this song is great as a make-up song for Big Fat Bass. It’s a song with a lot of revving electronics and some fun deep synth riffs during the hook. The lyrics are not that original again, but if I have to complain about that everytime I might as well give every album 1 star. Britney’s timing is great, she nailed this song.

There is something about the sound of Trip To Your Heart that I actually like very much. Although it’s a bass heavy house influenced song, it has a light quality because of the synths. It’s good that I know this is Britney singing, because at some points she sounds so much better than she used to that I can’t really tell it’s her at all.

Gasoline is a short song, a little over three minutes long, and the guitar in the song is the most memorable thing about the entire track for me. It adds an entirely different feel to the song than the other tracks have, so it’s a standout track, undoubtedly. It has a bit of a darker feel after the previous song, but I was distracted by Britney’s overacted moanings at some points, in a negative way I mean. Other than that, nice track.

Wow, a flute opens Criminal? It doesn’t get any better than this, Britney apparently decided to end her album with some memorable and unique tracks. This last song completely steps away from the dance ambience and it’s all pop this time. I think that this song surprised me most of all on this album, the whole arrangement is impeccable. The fact that there’s also an acoustic guitar in this song makes it even better than it already was. A good ending, I think I’d like some more like this.

I was surprised by Britney’s new album, because after all she’s been through I thought she was going to be the worst singer ever from that moment on. I stopped listening her music after ‘Blackout’ was released in 2007, it was such a dull album to me at that time (don’t know yet if I can change my mind, gotta try soon). Then she released ‘Circus’ in 2008, which was a decent album and she kinda captured my attention for a little while. I even bought her album when I was in London. Now there’s Femme Fatale, and I can’t ignore her anymore. She put some really interesting tracks on this album, and I heard some of the bonus tracks that were very good as well (everybody, download ‘He About To Lose Me’!). The original tracks on this album were mostly good, some were simply genius. I can’t say other than I was stunned by Brit. This album is one celebration for the night!

Favourite tracks: Till The World Ends | Hold It Against Me | How I Roll | Trip To Your Heart | Criminal

OVERALL RATING

4 stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

