BENI – bye bye

February 26, 2011 at 11:51 AM | Posted in BENI | Leave a comment

SINGLE REVIEW
BENI – bye bye

1. bye bye
2. Stylish
3. Sign DJ HASEBE REMIX (サイン)
4. bye bye (Instrumental)

bye bye is the 15th single by Japanese singer BENI, and it was released on March 10, 2010. The single reached #57 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 1,485 copies.

No surprise bye bye is a midtempo R&B song, but BENI always knows how to give her songs a certain spark. This song is made up from a good bass heavy beat, synths and at some points even a piano, and it gives one heck of a song, I really like it. The chorus is very catchy (‘Itsumo no bye, bye‘), and over the past few months I really have fallen in love with BENI’s voice and how she hits her high notes.

Stylish on the other hand is an uptempo track and follows more of a dance/pop pattern with more synths. BENI sounds very fierce here, and this genre suits her very well too. She should step out of the all time midtempo R&B’s on her albums and put something like this track on them much more. I love her ‘I’m so into you‘ line in the bridge, this track is very solid and never gets boring.

I love how the new heavy drum beat carries Sign DJ HASEBE REMIX (サイン), which is also a little more uptempo than the original. I remember loving Sign pretty much, the piano melody was very pretty and I’m glad it’s still here. BENI’s vocals are also top notch, very peaceful in the verses and then she comes out classy during the chorus. DJ HASEBE has done a great job on this one, I love it!

So basically all I have to say is that from now on, I will review and listen to BENI’s music a lot more. I always thought she was good, ever since I reviewed her album Bitter and Sweet (exactly half a year ago XD), but I kinda stuck to my all time Ayu and Kuu listens. I have to get myself into a BENI fandom now, I can’t ignore this girl any longer, she’s way too good and I love the light R&B quality of her voice. I need some more of this!

OVERALL RATING

5 stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

