Ke$ha – Cannibal

January 28, 2011 at 8:33 PM | Posted in Ke$ha | Leave a comment

ALBUM REVIEW
Ke$ha – Cannibal

1. Cannibal
2. We R Who We R
3. Sleazy
4. Blow
5. The Harold Song
6. Crazy Beautiful Life
7. Grow A Pear
8. C U Next Tuesday
9. Animal (Billboard Remix)

♦ ♦ ♦

Cannibal is the first extended play by American singer Ke$ha, and it was released on November 19, 2010. It’s a followup companion to her debut album, Animal. Originally the EP was set to only be released as a deluxe edition of Animal, but was instead sold and released as both an EP and a deluxe edition of AnimalCannibal peaked at #15 on the U.S. Billboard 200.

Rawr, Cannibal is a very good and fierce track for dancing, but we’re quite used to that when it comes from Ke$ha, right? The lyrics are kinda creepy sometimes, especially when she talks about drinking boys’ blood when she’s thirsty, but her singing in the verses is very good. I even find the rapping and her (pretty weird?) adlibbing funny this time! The beat in this track is the best.

At first We R Who We R reminded me a lot of the verses of her hitsingle TiK ToK, but in the verse she really shows how different this one is. Another danceable track with a lot of bass and synths in the musical arrangement, and also many vocals altered with a vocoder. Always a pretty funny sound to me. When I first heard this song on the radio, I instantly loved it even though the chorus is repeatable, I didn’t even care!

Wow, now Ke$ha is giving me hiphop with Sleazy? I looove hiphop beats for their incredible use of bass and percussion, so I can appreciate this (sort of) look-a-like of Rihanna’s ‘Raining Men’ a lot. Ke$ha raps in the verses and she even really sings in the choruses! The intro to the song was the best part, her singing was far from out of key and the harmonization was beautiful.

Blow takes us back to the electropop side of the album, and this is quite a bland track to me. Personally, I don’t like lyrics talking about ‘we’ in the context of partying, but that’s my crazy brain. Ke$ha’s vocals are well altered in the chorus when she sings “bloo-oo-oo-oow”, but it’s not very interesting. Most of the time it’s singing, only the bridge is rapping.

This is really a surprise, The Harold Song is a beautiful midtempo and peaceful track with awesome singing vocals by Ke$ha! The lyrics are worth listening, so listen well whenever you hear this song. Next to the percussion and a bit of synth, even a piano is heard, especially during the end of the song. One of the best songs until now, really.

Crazy Beautiful Life is another fun track! Some of the sound effects and the synths remind me of Nintendo games I used to play when I was little, and some of Ke$ha’s singing melodies are fun as well. Raise your hands if you think of Mario Karts, hehe *raises*. It’s the shortest track on the album, but I must say it’s also one of the better out of the bunch.

I’m not a big fan of Ke$ha’s rapping, but I’m certainly not a hater. There’s just something about her singing in Grow A Pear that I don’t like at all. This track as a whole doesn’t seem to have a highlight, except for the line “no, I don’t have to see your man-gina” then, that totally cracked me up! Musically, I guess I’ll pass this one for now, maybe it can grow on me, I’ll give it a chance.

C U Next Tuesday is a decent track, really. The music is upbeat and quite uplifting, filled with synths and vocoder effects in Ke$ha’s vocals, it’s just the lyrics that don’t appeal to me. Apart from that, this track is pleasable for its melodic and happy character. Repetition, yes. But hell with it, I gotta get over it somehow, Ke$ha can easily be called a true entertainer and she entertained me with this track.

Quite a surprise that Animal (Billboard Remix) might even be just as good as the original. While the original version is more of a jumping dance version, this is more midtempo and has more R&B/pop influences. I also believe that Ke$ha has re-recorded her vocals on this track, some singing lines sound very different. She really did some hard work for this remix, and it can be heard. I’m not very fond of remixes, but I can really dig this one, it’s easy on the ears.

Ke$ha is an artist with very stunning tracks that blow me away like BOOM, while the rest is plain blegh. There isn’t another option, and that’s something I found out while listening to Cannibal. I loved the first half of the EP, the second one had some tracks that didn’t appeal to me at all. There isn’t a single one that is right there in the middle. Her debut album Animal had the very same issues, and that’s why this album will get the same sort of rating. Loveable tracks and totally uninteresting stuff, that’s Cannibal guys!

Favorite tracks: Cannibal | We R Who We R | Sleazy | Crazy Beautiful Life

OVERAL RATING

3½ stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

