SHINee – Hello

October 12, 2010 at 3:44 PM | Posted in SHINee | 4 Comments

ALBUM REVIEW
SHINee – Hello

1. LUCIFER
2. Hello
3. 하나 (One)
4. Get It
5. UP & DOWN
6. Electric Heart
7. A-Yo
8. 욕(慾) (Obsession)
9. 화살 (Quasimodo)
10. 악 (Shout Out)
11. WOWOWOW
12. Your Name
13. Life
14. Ready or Not
15. Love Pain
16. 사.계.후 (Love Still Goes On)

♦ ♦ ♦

Hello is the repackage version of Korean boy group SHINee’s second studio album Lucifer, released on July 19, 2010 in South Korea. Within hours of the album’s release, it topped various physical and digital sales charts in South Korea. Shinee released a repackaged album of Lucifer called Hello October 1, 2010. Their comeback on KBS music was on the same day.

This must be heaven, since the album starts with a song that’s possibly SHINee’s best song EVER. Lucifer is a very strong electropop song with a lot of vocoder effects and strong synths, mostly prominent in the chorus. I love it that every member has his very own part, and that each singer can easily be identified, even Taemin can be heard! Onew features best vocals here in my opinion, stronger than ever, and Minho’s rap… please stop talking… or I’ll faint xD

And than the moment we’ve probably all been waiting for: Hello! We’ve already seen what a cute MV this song has, but even without the video this track is easily as enjoyable. The lyrics are very sweet, something you really like to hear from a boy (or girl). Just as in Lucifer, every SHINee member does something very unexpected. Taemin belts(!) out the hook and Minho is featured in the second verse! This R&B song easily fits onto this album.

Another new track for this version is 하나 (One), and this is the perfect example for a perfect collaboration ballad. The beat is very smooth, and the strings and guitar give this song such a nice ambience. I still think it’s a nice thing to give Taemin and Minho more lines, especially since they’re mostly the dancer and the rapper.

Get It can be called ‘Get Down 2.0’, because it’s very similar to that rapping song from their EP ‘2009: Year Of Us’. The only difference to me is the use of instruments, it’s less bombastic, and besides Minho and Key rapping, the other SHINee members can be heard much more than in Get Down. I love the background vocals in the final chorus, it’s such a sweet underlying tone. And for the rapping, SHINee really knows how to stick to their style!

UP & DOWN sounds even faster when placed behind Get It! I have listened to this track frequently since the first time I heard it, and I love it for it’s cute melody and chimes. Apart from those sweet chimes and piano, the track is very upbeat and filled with synths and beats. It’s Jonghyun all over to me, because he is featured most prominent of all in the chorus. Minho and Onew have some great parts as well, but where is Taemin? =(  Well, even without him SHINee can make a great song (nothing personal, Taemin oppa ^^)

The next song is very good, but not the best I’ve ever heard. Electric Heart isn’t an electric song at all, it’s more of a Pop/R&B song with a lot of guitar riffs and bass. Well, the electronic elements are there, true, but they’re not dominant at all. It’s a bit like a texture for the song. This song actually reminds me a lot of Justin Timberlake’s later work!

If I wasn’t satisfied about Electric Heart, this song pulls me out of the misery (okay, there wasn’t any, can you imagine how strong this next one is). A-Yo is one of the better songs on this album, because it’s so cheerful and happy. The lovely beats are dominant in the verses, while the synth elements take over in the chorus. I think I can never get enough of their pretty voices blended together in these types of songs. Jonghyun, Onew and Key have the best parts in this track!

The music goes from cheerful to rather haunting with 욕(慾) (Obsession), but at least the production of this song is deliverd quite well. The entire undertone of this song keeps featuring that melancholic haunting theme, and Jonghyun’s vocals, which are all over this song, are so filled with emotions that they fit into this song best off all the vocals in the group. Meaning Minho’s rap might not be well placed in this song, next to sounding kinda comical when you don’t understand a word of the Korean language. The part I did like was when Minho said ‘bring it back‘, and a marvelous electric guitar solo filled the room!

I still have my question marks up for the title of 화살 (Quasimodo), but hell with that, here is another beautiful ballad that already starts of very pretty with the group humming to the melody of the song’s chorus. This time, mostly Taemin, Key and Onew can be heard, with some of Jonghyun’s addlibbing but he had his chance during the previous song. The verses of this song are the best parts, so melodic…

악 (Shout Out) is another Get Down 2.0 with a lot of raps following the monkey sounds in the introduction. The raps are very strong and ruthless and Minho and Key’s voices are all over the place. The one thing that humoured me on this track are the strange high pitched moanings(?) in the background, mostly in the chorus. My guess? A weird altered adlibbing by Jonghyun or Taemin xD

Back to the overall cheeriness with WOWOWOW, and I have to admit I really love the bounce in this song together with the vocoder effects, cute synths and groovy guitar and bass lines. The best thing? Every member has some lines and they all fit perfectly in this song! It’s so catchy, and I’m a bit ashamed of myself for the fact that I haven’t reognized this song before. The rest of the day I will be singing the title words for sure, a real recommendation!

Then it’s time to go old school. Your Name is almost kinda reminiscent of SHINee’s first album, ‘The SHINee World’, so it’s very nostalgic in some sort of way. The beat and the cute synth effect in the background are the musical aspects that I really love in this song, it’s almost something you can use for a game like Maple Story. Very cute, but not overly cute, which is very positive.

Life is mostly the song for both Onew and Jonghyun, the lead singers of the group. Although Onew hardly ever belts out his lines, he has a certain quality in this voice that keeps stunning me over and over again. When I listen to this song very carefully, I learn to appreciate SHINee’s ballad songs more and more every single time they throw another one on me. The chorus features all of the boys, which completes the entire track for me (including those lovely high pitched adlibbings by Jonghyun).

The first thought that popped into my mind when I heard the first ten seconds of Ready or Not was: “OMG, craaaaazy!” This is such an overall chaotic, messy yet funny song, and something I was really waiting for after <em>Your Name </em>and <em>Life</em>. It’s a very groovy dance song with a lot of synths, yet it’s very melodic and has a sort of jungle boogie to it in the verses (call me crazy, but in my opinion it has xD). One of my favourites from the uptempo songs.

Blazing synths and a pumping beat are featured prominently in Love Pain, a typical SHINee song with all the members singing the chorus, an overall R&B/electro tune and Jonghyun belting out all of his lyrics. Other members contribute to this song very well as well, our Onew throws some great vocals into this and Minho has a great line in the opening of the song. But well… it kinda flows by, even the (kinda off-key) transition to another pitch doesn’t bother me.

사.계.후 (Love Still Goes On) shows SHINee on the loose for one more time with a lot of great raps by Minho and Key and fast vocals by the other members. The brassy elements come as a great surprise, and definitely a welcome one, and I also love the synths and beats in this last song. A worthy closing song since it just brings every element together one last time.

Well, SHINee released a wonderful second album to say the least, and this repackage only improved the original! It was a very long tracklist, that’s why it took me so terribly long to make this review in this busy period, but it was soooo worth it to throw aside my school books and to sit down to finish this review. Most of the songs are produced and written very good, and it only proved the great musicality of all the members, no exceptions. It also proved they have grown a lot since their first album and the EP ‘<em>2009: Year Of Us</em>’. I bet SHINee is going to take over Asia pretty soon, since they’re already very popular everywhere. Now all they need is MORE, and that’s just what they will achieve when they go on like this. I only keep asking myself one thing: why the HECK aren’t they popular over here in Europe???

Favorite tracks: Hello | Lucifer | UP & DOWN | 악 (Shout Out) | WOWOWOW | Ready or Not

OVERALL RATING

4½ stars

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Probably one of my favorite albums (or repackages, anyway). Like 80% of these songs are great!!! 🙂

    • Agreed! Years later I still have this on repeat so I stand by everything I have said here haha!

  2. Besides “Hello” and a couple other songs, there really isn’t much here. I think they release better stuff over in japan.

    • You sure you’re a Shawol? -_-


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

