Koda Kumi – Suki de, Suki de, Suki de. ~ Anata Dake ga

September 27, 2010 at 8:53 PM | Posted in Koda Kumi | Leave a comment

SINGLE REVIEW
Koda Kumi – Suki de, Suki de, Suki de. ~ Anata Dake ga

1. Suki de, Suki de Suki de.
2. Anata Dake ga
3. walk ~to the future~

Suki de, Suki de, Suki de. ~ Anata Dake ga is the 48th single released by Japanese singer Koda Kumi on September 22, 2010. The single includes a re-arranged version of her song walk for its tenth anniversary.

I know this is Koda Kumi review number 1000000, but I have to keep up with current releases. So… let’s get started.
I love the way Suki de, Suki de, Suki de. starts off with a lot of dramatic percussion and strings and a nice etherical synth sound. This is quite a long ballad song, which has outstanding verses most of all. There’s something about the chorus that I just don’t know. It’s pretty, but it doesn’t capture me for the entire 100%. This track is one biiiig drama song, just like the PV. It’s decent, it’s likeable.

Anata Dake ga sounds so much better! Not that I hated Suki de, but this track is more appealing if you ask me. First of all, I like the percussion more. I have a weak spot for those real R&B beats with a lot of bass and handclaps, and mixed with a piano it gives off such a nice ambience! The singing melody in this song is very nice as well, and I really love Kumi’s voice here. I think it’s one of the better songs Kumi did after she released UNIVERSE.

I had to listen to the original version of walk before I could start on walk ~to the future~. Vocally, the original song is very good and strong. Musically I don’t give a *beep* about it, maybe the chorus a little. The new version is a lot less bombastic than the original with a piano and a lovely choir. A little change in Kumi’s vocals are noticed, but nog a huge one at all. She improved, that’s for sure. Now about the music, I like this simpeler version so much better! It’s more effective than the original, with its beautiful strings in the chorus and a piano. Later, percussion and guitars drop in. This is definitely so much better, I don’t even remember the original one! This is one of the best ballads Kumi has ever done! ❤

This was a pretty good single, even after I was totally addicted to the song ‘Lollipop‘ off her single Gossip Candy. I thought she wasn’t gonna beat that, but with this single she almost did! I must say she did a pretty good job on the new version of ‘walk‘, it shows off her improvement as an artist in her 10-year-career. ‘Suki de, Suki de, Suki de.‘ was quite decent, not ugly, better than the fishbowl songs to say the least. But I like ‘Anata Dake ga‘ sooooo much more! ❤  I’m curious about her 49th and 50th single, probably released within a not too long period of time.

Favorite tracks: Anata Dake ga | walk ~to the future~

OVERALL RATING

4½ stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

