alan – Kaze ni Mukau Hana

September 14, 2010 at 4:43 PM | Posted in alan | Leave a comment

SINGLE REVIEW
alan – Kaze ni Mukau Hana

1. Kaze ni Mukau Hana
2. Koko ni Iru
3. Ii Hi Tabidachi
4. Kizuna (Niko version)
5. Nada Sousou (Niko version)
6. Megumi no Ame (alan 1st concert -voice of you- version)
7. Gunjou no Tani (alan 1st concert -voice of you- version)
8. Natsukashii Mirai ~longing future~ (alan 1st concert -voice of you- version)
9. Kaze ni Mukau Hana (instrumental)
10. Koko ni Iru (instrumental)

This is Tibetan singer alan’s 13th single, released on July 7, 2010. It was released in five different packages (which explains the five different covers), so I kind of made my own tracklisting for this review. The single reached #17 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and sold 7,223 copies. The title track was used as the theme song for the movie Hisshiken Torisashi.

Wow, this really must be the return of the REAL alan after her last studio album my life. Kaze ni Mukau Hana starts off with a great adlibbing and wailing section, and soon enough it’s starting to get to me that this track is definitly an alan powerballad, mixing the Voice of EARTH elements with those of my life. The musical arrangement of this song is much bigger and better organized than most previous tracks she released, and her voice is both calm and powerful. This is the style I like most on alan!

The introduction into Koko ni Iru sounded a bit like a music box, but then a piano and a variated arranged beat takes over and changes the whole ambience. In the verses, it’s almost R&B-like, while it’s more danceable in the chorus. This could fit well in the my life era, but it would be one of the better songs then. Through the echoes it still contains that bit of ‘old’ alan, but she always knows how to add something new and different to her songs, like in this one.

I love the beautiful piano and strings arrangement that lead into Ii Hi Tabidachi, it’s so mysterious and (for alan) almost foreboding. Apparently, this is a cover of the famous (oh really? o.O) 1978 song by Momoe Yamaguchi. This is my first meeting with the song, and I love alan’s version. I don’t know about the original, but this version is so beautifully done with great vocals and a wonderfully created feeling throughout the track.

Kizuna (Niko version) is a lovely instrumental song, and it creates the mood I want to hear from alan: that typical Asian ambience. It makes me think of the movie <em>Anna and the King </em>(1998, with Jodie Foster) so much, and I’ve always loved the Asian music and culture ever since I saw that movie. So this track only features an erhu (wooow, loved it), played by alan herself, a piano, bells, a bass and some very soft percussion.

The next song, Nada Sousou (Niko version), does feature vocals by alan, and is hugely based on an acoustic guitar. I love songs led by guitars, and the melody in this song is one of the best I’ve ever heard, if not the best. alan throws an erhu melody into the song as well, and I must say it blends in wonderfully. Is there even a bad song on this single? I loved this!

Finally I can hear what alan sounds like live with the next 3 tracks, the live versions of , Gunjou no Tani, Megumi no Ame and Natsukashii Mirai ~longing future~. Gunjou no Tani is even more bombastic than the original version, and alan sounds as clear live as she does on her albums. I remember Megumi no Ame as being one of my favourite tracks on the <em>Voice of EARTH</em> album, and her live version of the song is as moving as never before. She really stuns me while singing live. The live version of Natsukashii Mirai ~longing future~ features more percussion and a real choir, and her live wailing is so flawless and beautiful, it’s to faint for! alan’s speaking voice is so cute when she thanks her audience. It was a good song to end this review with!

Is there anything alan can do wrong? Yes, stepping away from this. This was such a good way to return to her roots, I’ve never heard a ‘comeback’ like this single before. Every single track can make me faint, scream for more and love her more and more every minute. No wonder she’s my #5 artist on Last.FM, only preceeded by Ayumi Hamasaki, Koda Kumi, Michael Jackson and P!nk. If she keeps on going like this, which I believe she will, she will climb to a higher spot on my artist wall for sure! I love this stuff so much more than the my life stuff, although that album had it’s share of great tracks as well. She’s finally done with her Ayufication, she’s back to her true self now people! Give it up for miss Dawa Dolma!

Favorite tracks: Kaze ni Mukau Hana | Ii Hi Tabidachi | Nada Sousou (Niko version) | Natsukashii Mirai ~longing future~ (alan 1st concert -voice of you- version)

OVERALL RATING

5 stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

