Beyoncé – If I Were A Boy

August 27, 2010 at 8:37 PM | Posted in Beyoncé | Leave a comment

SINGLE REVIEW
Beyoncé – If I Were A Boy

1. If I Were A Boy
2. Single Ladies (Put A Ring On It)

If I Were A Boy is Beyoncé’s 12th solo single, and the first off her album I Am… Sasha Fierce. The single was released on October 8, 2008 and has topped many international charts, and it’s Beyoncé’s best selling single in the UK with 610,000 sold units.

If I Were A Boy is so different from what we were used from Beyoncé, since it’s not the traditional R&B song. It’s a pop song, that Beyoncé tried to make her own. The song is mostly led by an acoustic guitar, percussion and handclaps, and it sounds so fresh for her. This song is really strong and emotional, with heartfelt lyrics. I think every girl can identify with the idea of thinking about what they’d do if they were a man for just one day. Beyoncé sings this song so good, she really lays emotion in her voice and doesn’t go all yelling and stuff. Eevn my sister, who is 21 years old and doesn’t like Beyoncé very much, thought this song was her very best ever!

Back to Beyoncé’s alter ego Sasha Fierce. Single Ladies (Put A Ring On It) is fierce indeed, phew! How I like the beat to this song, it’s so danceable, and it’s nice to hear some synths in this song as well. This typical uptempo R&B song has such a catchy hook, it’s women empowerment all over, and it’s actually kinda groovy to me. Does it sound weird that this song reminds me of something? At first I was single, then I started a relationship with the boy who is now still my boyfriend, and only six days later I was walking around with a ring around my finger! Not the thought behind the song maybe, but maybe it’s another extra besides the good beat and vocals why I actually LIKE this Sasha Fierce song.

Beyoncé had her ups and downs and I have an on-off relationship with her music. There are some songs I truly loooove (<3), and there are also some songs that almost hurt my ears (</3). This single, with both tracks, belongs to the kind I love. The first track shows off Beyoncé’s softer side, while the second instantly sends us back to her stage alter ego, in a very good way. I still have a trauma from ‘Ring The Alarm’ off her studio album B’Day because of her yelling that was really killing me and I HATED it, so it’s awesome to hear a Sasha Fierce song that can appeal to me. This single is Beyoncé at her best!

Favorite track: If I Were A Boy | Single Ladies (Put A Ring On It)

OVERALL RATING

5 stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

