SHINee – 2009: Year Of Us

August 21, 2010 at 12:08 PM | Posted in SHINee | 3 Comments

MINI-ALBUM REVIEW
SHINee – 2009: Year Of Us

1. Y.O.U.
2. Ring Ding Dong
3. JoJo
4. Get Down (feat. Luna) (Key & Minho Duet)
5. SHINee Girl
6. 내가 사랑했던 이름 (The Name I Loved) (Onew solo)

This is SHINee’s third EP/mini-album (after 2008’s Replay and 2009’s ROMEO), and it was released on October 22, 2009 in Korea. The EP spawned two hit singles: Ring Ding Dong and JoJo, which was used as the ending theme for SHINee’s Hello Baby.

Y.O.U. stand for Year Of Us, and opens with a cool soft pecussion beat, and is a real SHINee R&B song with some synths in the back. It’s the kind of song you hear when prom’s over, it makes you feel sad in a good way. It’s obvious every member of the group has it’s own part in the song, mostly Onew and Jonghyun, but somehow I hear Taemin and Minho in here too once in a while (and they don’t have many lines at all most of the time). This is a very good collaboration between all SHINee members, and the song is very smooth and flowing.

I’m gonna thank God on my bare knees for Ring Ding Dong! This song is daaarn addictive, it’s my own guilty pleasure. I’m addictive to the PV as well, the dances are soooo good. Back to the music: another R&B song with synthesizer influences, and really good to dance on. I like the vocoder and distortion effects in their voices sometimes, and I believe they used autotune in the chorus. I like Jonghyun’s singing parts and Minho’s and Key’s rapping parts most of all.

JoJo… Hey wait, that’s me! xD Really, it’s my nickname. Anyway, the introduction to this song is so different from the rest of the song as a whole. It starts off with a lone piano and some adlibbing, when synths and beats come in softly to flow into a groovy chorus. This isn’t a typical SHINee R&B track, it’s more dance-like because of the aggressive synths. I get kind of an 80s vibe from this song, totally.

And then Get Down (feat. Luna) (Key & Minho Duet) is the best rapping song I’ve ever heard. The percussion beat is so different from anything I’ve ever heard from this group, and it’s so catchy and bouncy. Minho gets the first verse and I have to admit I don’t only love his looks ( OMG <333) but he has a freaking good voice as well! So tough… But when Key gets the second verse after a funny chorus (nananana…) he’s not bad either! Both do a great job here, and I can’t help but loving this song so much (even though it’s hard to hear Luna as backing singer).

SHINee Girl is smooth in the verses with percussion and synths, and then the chorus goes a whole other way with more of a funny bounce in it’s beat! This song is Onew, Jonghyun and Key written all over it, although Minho gets a line sometimes as well. This song is pure fun without getting too cute, it’s so well for a party.

A lone piano starts 내가 사랑했던 이름 (The Name I Loved) (Onew solo), and I instantly fall in love with Onew’s great vocals. The song is calm, but his voice blends in so well with the track as a whole. This is kind of a sad love song, with beautiful lyrics, and I wonder if it’s the other members of the group singing in the back of the chorus, although I don’t know who the featured artist is in this song (the Korean Wikipedia said so, but I can’t read Korean ofcourse). Onew is a very good singer, and he deserves his day in the sun with this beautiful ballad.

To keep things short: I LOOOOOOOVE this mini-album. Every single track appeals to me, and every time I hear another side of the group. From soft love ballads to groovy rap and synth pop, everything’s right here. I have been listening to this group for only a month, thanks to my best friend who was already addicted to them, but gosh, how I love them! I think I can already recommend their entire discography to you all (since I have it and will review everything for sure). They use so much variety in the way they sing with each other, their music, their lines, the way a song is built… This is what a boy group should be. Take this, Take That, there’s a new star in town!

Favorite tracks: Ring Ding Dong | Get Down (feat. Luna) (Key & Minho Duet)

OVERALL RATING

5 stars

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow! I didn’t enjoy this mini at all, lol! I only got “Ring Ding Dong” and “Jojo” out of this. It’s always interesting to hear other peoples’ opinions and I’m glad you enjoyed it, Jade 🙂

  2. “JOJO” and nothing else. “Ring Ding Dong” I don’t get it either…What’s so great? I actually prefer “Get It” over “Get Down” though.

    • You keep stabbing me in the heart 😦


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

