Michael Jackson – Thriller 25

August 21, 2010 at 8:34 PM | Posted in Michael Jackson | Leave a comment

ALBUM REVIEW
Michael Jackson – Thriller 25

1. Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’
2. Baby Be Mine
3. The Girl Is Mine (feat. Paul McCartney)
4. Thriller
5. Beat It
6. Billy Jean
7. Human Nature
8. P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing)
9. Lady In My Life
10. Voice-Over Sessions By Vincent Price
11. The Girl Is Mine 2008 (feat. will.i.am)
12. P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing) 2008 (feat. will.i.am)
13. Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’ 2008 (feat. Akon)
14. Beat It 2008 (feat. Fergie)
15. Billie Jean 2008 (feat. Kanye West)
16. For All Time

♦ ♦ ♦

The original album ‘Thriller’ is American singer Michael Jackson’s sixth album, and it was released on November 30, 1982. It became the world’s best selling album ever, topped charts worldwide and sold 25,000,000 copies across the globe! Now, a second chapter is released on February 8, 2008: Thriller 25, to celebrate the 25th anniversary of this record breaking album.

Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’ throws in some funk with a bass guitar, electric guitar and a percussion beat you can feel run right through your veins. The brassy elements in this song finish it off, and don’t get me started on Michael’s vocals. That man had a voice, oh my gosh, he can sing in such a high pitch. I love the chanting at the end of the song, it’s so funky.

Lone percussion starts Baby Be Mine, and Michael’s signature instrumentarium is used again, but in such an original way to create an entirely other melody for this track. This time, a synthesizer is featured as well, and I like the way Michael sings in harmony with himself and the way he sings his own backup in the chorus.

One of my favourites, The Girl Is Mine (feat. Paul McCartney) is next. Ofcourse everybody knows Paul as a former member of the band The Beatles. This song is a soft rock/soul ballad, and you can really distinct each voice since Michael’s is higher than Paul’s. They play off each other very well, and the discussion (a spoken dialogue) is so funny, I just gotta love it. It gives that little extra something to the meaning of the song.

Thriller: need I say more? Good, better, best! The best song of the entire album (also the title track, so… coincidence?), since it’s all mysterious, frightening and funky at the same time. I don’t have to keep on blabbering about this, it’s all clear: this is one of the best songs ever released in the history of mankind!

Beat It is actually the first rock song I get to hear on this album. The electric guitars are very strong and Michael’s vocals are more aggressive than usual, so the entire track has a bit of an angry character. Michael’s adlibbing in the verses are very funny, and I can’t help but screaming along to the ‘ooh’s’ and ‘brrr!’s’. Oh how I’m enjoying this…

Another one of those best tracks ever: the one and only… Billie Jean! It starts off with just a bass guitar and percussion, but synths find their way in pretty soon. I can’t get enough of Michael Jackson’s catchy vocals, I can really feel his identity flowing through the song. The brass instruments are a nice addition as well.

After a while I fell in love with Human Nature, a synth pop ballad with a beautiful melody and even more beautiful lyrics. To be honest, things CAN get a little repetitive after a while, but then again: this is Michael Jackson, folks! Can he do any wrong? In my opinion, that’s a definite no. As I said, you get to love this ballad…

I haven’t listened to P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing) a lot, but I love it all the same. A dancehall/funk song fills my ears, and I can imagine hearing this in an 80s roller disco (a bit like ‘Don’t Stop Till You Get Enough’). I like the girl’s chanting near the end of the song, the aping, when Michael and the girls sing ‘nananana’. The bass in this song is so dominant, it gives me all goosebumps.

A good closing song to the original album is  The Lady In My Life. If I’d say I love this song, I wouldn’t have said it all. A very calm verse leads into one of the most appealing choruses ever made in human history, it’s like a total wake up call. The melody gets more likeable every second, and more synths are featured after the song developed a little more.

Voice-Over Sessions By Vincent Price: 27 seconds of pure creepyness! OMG, the devilish laugh almost scares the crap out of me…

The new tracks start of with a new R&B sound brought in by will.i.am for The Girl Is Mine 2008. will.i.am replaces Paul McCartney for this version, and totally edited the music as well. It’s more uptempo, Michael himself sings Paul’s parts and will.i.am raps a newly added bridge. will.i.am and Michael Jackson roll well together!

And probably they noticed that as well, so they teamed up again for P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing) 2008. This song isn’t as good as the original, but still I can listen to it. This is kind of an R&B/dance version of the funky dancehall original, and I think it’s a little bland compared to the rest of the album.

A lone piano opens Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’ 2008 (feat. Akon), and Akon himself finds his way right in with newly written lyrics for this version. After about a minute, that good ol’ beat drops in again, and I’m bouncing on my seat even before Michael sings his part. From here, it begins to sound a bit like the original, though Akon has more vocal parts in this song, so it should be Akon featuring Michael Jackson in this case.

Beat It 2008 (feat. Fergie) seems so have more synth and bass elements in it than the original, and Michael’s vocals are the same as in that version. Fergie just replaced some of his lyrics. She doesn’t pull it off as well as he does, her vocals sounds too forced, like she’s trying too hard.

I looove what Kanye West did to Billie Jean 2008, it’s like the original version, but then a little slower paced and with more beats and bass in it (my boyfriend proved it: his music installation almost blew itsself up on this song). Kanye West doesn’t have a singing or rapping part in this song though, he just produced the music for it.

The last track is a never before released one, it’s called For All Time. It’s so beautiful and emotional, I get all goosebumps and tears in my eyes. The lyrics are so wonderful, like poetry, the music moves me like never before and even Michael’s vocals are flawless and better than ever. This is my #1 song on my iPod, my summer evening anthem!

I’m over-enthousiastic about Michael Jackson’s best album ever. I have come to appreciate him over the past seven years, since I was only nine years old, so not only because of his sudden death last year on June 25, 2009. This man was a legend, his music is of all times, for all ages, all races, and his albums and songs are unforgettably beautiful and meaningful. He kept on proving himself over and over again, every song kept me going on singing and dancing along and every track had something unique. I can only honour Michael Joseph Jackson and say: rest in peace, you were the one and only true performer. I bet everyone’s gonna say this with me: we love you =)

Favorite tracks: The Girl Is Mine (feat. Paul McCartney) | Thriller | Billie Jean | Human Nature | The Lady In My Life | Billie Jean 2008 (Kanye West Remix) | For All Time

OVERALL RATING

5 stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

