alan – Diamond / Over the clouds

August 21, 2010 at 10:22 PM | Posted in alan | Leave a comment

SINGLE REVIEW
alan – Diamond / Over the clouds

1. Diamond
2. Over the clouds
3. Diamond (Instrumental)
4. Over the clouds (Instrumental)

This is Tibetan singer alan’s 12th single, released on February 3, 2010. Diamond was used as the ending theme song for the NTV anime Inuyasha Kanketsuhen, while Over the clouds was used as the opening theme song for the PSP game God Eater.

I agree with fellow reviewers, that Diamond is another episode of alan’s Ayufication. And yes, it also reminds me of Ayumi Hamasaki’s song M. Some of alan’s old vibes are still in there in the use of instruments, like chimes and disonant, ambient synths, but the ‘cold’ melody and electric guitar solo (and sometimes even alan’s own vocals) make me think twice: alan or Ayumi? But hey, I like Ayumi, and I like M, so why wouldn’t I like this?

alan’s signature style turns around for about 180 degrees for Over the clouds, but I have to admit this ambient track with both dance and R&B influences is hot, hot, hot! Keep on going, alan, and I may even stop talking about comparisons with golden album Voice of EARTH! I like this style on alan, as she still sticks to her old vocal abilities with fairly high notes while the music features more heavy synthesizers, beats and strings. Gimme some more, maybe on your next studio album, alan!

A good single, really. I’m going to stay away from all those prejudices that alan is trying to be all Ayumi Hamasaki 2.0 (because Avex Trax appears evil, muahaha). alan has a right to develop her style more, maybe to get through to more people? Then, she may be right. I wonder what her next studio album will be like, and if she varies it just like she did with ‘my life’. Put these tracks on it, alan, and you got me listening for sure.

Favorite track: Over the clouds

OVERALL RATING

4 stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

