Koda Kumi – Alive / Physical thing

August 20, 2010 at 9:35 PM | Posted in Koda Kumi | Leave a comment

SINGLE REVIEW
Koda Kumi – Alive / Physical thing

1. Alive
2. Physical thing
3. Alive (Instrumental)
4. Physical thing (Instrumental
5. TRICK Live Version (From TRICK Tour 2009)
6. Joyful Live Version (From TRICK Tour 2009)

Alive/Physical thing is Koda Kumi’s forty-fifth single, and it was released on September 16, 2009. “Alive” was used as the theme song for the film-adaptation of “Kamui the Ninja”. The single peaked at #1 on the Oricon charts, earning Kumi her 8th #1 single.

Alive is one of Kumi’s prettiest songs I’ve ever heard. It’s so ambient, I love the woodwinds and smooth strings, it gives off such a calm and sophisticated feeling. This could even suit fellow J-pop singer alan, who sings epic songs like this one. Personally, I love me some ballads, and this beautiful one right here never lets me down, no matter how many times I listen to it. It’s so different from things Kumi used to do, she would always hit folks with her cute pop or smooth R&B songs, so this was a huge surprise for me. One of my favourite Kumi songs ever!

As I expected, Kumi isn’t throwing two ballad’s in a row at me. Physical thing is energetic, good lawd! Aggressive synths and some fierce vocals from miss Koda as well. It’s a 180 from Alive, that’s for sure. It doesn’t really stand out in my opinion, but hey, everyone here knows I’m everything but a dance lover xD Apart from that, she really did some great work on this song.

Two live versions are included on this single too, and TRICK Live Version (From TRICK Tour 2009) is the first. It’s funny to hear Kumi scream and sweeping up the audience, and I really would like to see a video of this performance, since it’s all bouncy music and less singing, so she must have been dancing a lot. I like the (surprise surprise) new verse addition near the end! Very, very good live performance to say the least.

Joyful Live Version (From TRICK Tour 2009) is the second live performance, and I remember liking this song a little less on her studio album. I have to say there’s almost no difference between Kumi on a studio album and her on stage, she sounds exactly the same. She sings so pure, she hits every note and really sounds like a performer to me. This live version makes me like this song more though. Gosh, I’d almost book a ticket to Tokyo sometime to hit the road for one of her concert tours! xD

I understand why this single is #1 on the Oricon charts, every song, including the live bonus tracks, are extremely wonderful! Alive and both the live versions are all on #1 for me, but Physical thing isn’t bad either. This single is so full of useful material, and I’m so glad every track appeared on a studio album (Alive and Physical thing on her latest album UNIVERSE and both live versions on her previous album TRICK). I’ve found some new favourites, I think, that’s how much I loooove this single.

Favorite tracks: Alive | TRICK Live Version (From TRICK Tour 2009) | Joyful Live Version (From TRICK Tour 2009)

OVERALL RATING

5 stars

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

